RSS Feed

Back to School

Posted on

Well tonight was quite a mix of emotions. Class was great. I love my instructor and she does an awesome job of making microbiology seems both relevant and interesting, which is no easy feat in my mind (especially for 4 straight hours!). I actually laughed a lot, which is a great sign. Tonight in lab, we made yogurt!! I thought it was really interesting because I recently came across a blog post with instructions on making your own. It made me want to make some at home.

Unfortunately, I also found out there is a strong possibility I need to retake an entry level English class, which is so incredibly frustrating to me because I already have an English minor!! I need to make a decision about that in the next day or two. Errrrg.

Before all of this fun stuff happened, I had a very early dinner of a Fajita Frittata and a slice of toast.

hpim2600

I sauteed some red bell pepper and onion, seasoned with cumin, paprika, coriander, cayenne pepper and some salt. Then I added a bit of frozen corn to heat through and about 1/2 cup of black beans. Meanwhile I whisked 4 eggs and a splash of milk with a bit of salt and pepper and then folded the veggie mixture into the eggs and added some chopped cilantro. Then I dumped everything back into the oven-proof skillet, topped with a bit of shredded mozzarella and baked at 350 for about 10 minutes. We ate it topped with some sour cream. So good. I definitely think I’ll be making this one again.

Tonight’s interesting fact: We learned that scientists are further developing microbes that can be help in oil spills, by digesting the oil. Weird.


2 responses »

  1. Glad that class went well overall – hang in there!!

    Reply
  2. I am glad your class was some what fun! That stinks about the English class. They always get you on stuff like that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

