RSS Feed

Minestrone

Posted on

I’m feeling a weird combination of foggy and anxious today. Foggy I assume because I didn’t sleep well last night, probably because I was anxious about starting classes tonight. Tonight I have Microbiology, which sounds pretty unappealing, but should be OK. Maybe it’ll be more exciting than I’m giving it credit for.

Anyway, moving on to lunch. I made some minestrone yesterday to have for lunches this week and here it is:

hpim2585

Here’s what’s in it:

  • 1 cup dried navy beans, cooked
  • 1 can Cannellini beans
  • 28oz tomatoes, pureed
  • 1 yellow squash
  • 1 medium Spanish onion
  • 2 carrots
  • 2 stalks celery
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 6 cups vegetable broth
  • some salt, pepper, basil, oregano, red pepper flakes, bay leaf and a Parmesan rind simmered with the soup.

I pureed the tomatoes because I wanted a tomato flavored broth, but not chunks of tomatoes. Overall a good, healthy soup. I really like minestrone, although it is definitely not Brent’s favorite.

hpim2570

The onion I used for this soup was out of control! It took me like 30 minutes just to chop it because I was tearing up so badly and I kept having to leave the kitchen. Luckily, I tried to take that as a good thing, because I remember reading that the more pungent an onion is, the more cancer fighting properties it has. So let that thought comfort you next time you’re crying onto your cutting board.

We’re having a super quick dinner tonight because I only have 1 hour between picking Brent up from work and leaving for class. I’ll probably post dinner when I get back. Off to the gym to work on my fitness! 🙂

3 responses »

  1. Lovely soup!!

    Feel better soon!!

    Reply
  2. Looks great – I’m loving the way this soup looks.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Ready For Spring « The Idle Loaf

Leave a Reply

