RSS Feed

Yum!

Posted on

Today we had a really out of season, and totally delicious dinner: Pesto and Tomato Pizza!! I loved this. The crust was crisp and chewy, and I love the smell of basil. It reminds me of summer, even if that is a hilarious idea in the middle of an arctic freeze.

hpim2617

The dough is a 100% whole wheat dough made using a modified version of the Master Boule recipe from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes A Day (which I still do not own! :() Basically I used 6.5 cups whole wheat flour, 3.5 cups water, 1.5 tablespoons kosher salt and 1.5 tablespoons dry active yeast. I mixed it all together, let it rise, and then stuck it in the fridge. I used about 1/4 of that to make this dough.

I pre-baked the dough at 450 for 8 minutes, spread on the pesto, some sliced tomatoes, mozzarella and some Parmesan. The pesto is just a combination of basil, olive oil, Parmesan cheese, pine nuts, and a bit of garlic. I didn’t measure anything, just throw it all in a cup and blended using my immersion blender.

I loved this pizza! The crust came out really great for a 100% whole wheat crust, which made me happy because I wasn’t super impressed with the bread this dough made. Well, the bread was fine, just not as great as the actual recipe. I was so happy with the pizza though. I have been looking forward to it all week!

SHOUT OUT!

Congratulations to my little brother Zack, who got the part of Augustus Gloop in his school’s production of Willy Wonka!

7 responses »

  1. I would’ve used a bigger font for “Shout Out!” I mean, it’s pretty big, but I don’t know that it conveys the proper level of excitement.

    Reply
  2. Looks fabulous!!

    Congratulations to your brother!!

    Reply
  3. I love pesto and tomato on pizza regardless of time of year!

    Congrats to your brother. A star is born. 😀

    Reply
  4. I love the pesto/tomato combo!

    Reply
  5. It sounds and looks delicious. I froze several bags of pesto this summer, so I’m thinking this would be the perfect way to use them!

    Reply
  6. congrats to your brother. Do we have a future actor in your family?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

