RSS Feed

Red Lentil Success

Posted on

Tonight’s dinner was another red lentil recipe from Veganomicon, but this one had way better results. I made the Red Lentil-Cauliflower Curry, which Brent really likes.

hpim2636

We’ve made this dish a lot, but I feel very conflicted about it. If this meal and I had a relationship on Facebook, it would be listed under “It’s complicated.” I always think it tastes perfectly good when I make it, but I would never really choose to make it, and often I buy the ingredients for it because I know Brent likes it, but never actually end up making it. Weird, I know, but I still feel happy to recommend that everyone else try it, because it is actually quite tasty. And filling! I always halve the recipe, which is then supposed to make 2-3 servings, but I think it makes 3 very generous portions, because I just can’t eat a ton of it. Must be all the fiber. It sits in my stomach like a rock and makes me not even want to think about food for a long time.

Alright, off to veg out and maybe watch a movie. Anyone seen Margot at the Wedding? It’s our latest Netflix movie, but Brent seems pretty disinterested at this point.

7 responses »

  1. Wonderful!!

    Never seen that film.

    Reply
  2. hi victoria — i saw your comment on hangrypants about making veggie broth. i’m going to start doing that — thanks for the idea 🙂
    p.s. i cooked with red lentils for the first time today. soooo good. where have they been all my life??

    Reply
  3. I tried cooking red lentils and they turned out stinky and gross. I’m thinking that might be a fluke. If I try again, I’ll have to try this!

    Reply
  4. Thanks for the heads-up on this recipe. We love anything curry, and I don’t think to cook cauliflower all that often. I’ll have to check it out!

    Weird that it doesn’t agree with you, though. Could it be the cauliflower? Cruciferous veggies are tough on some people’s systems . . . ????

    Reply
  5. I have NOT had success with red lentils, but I will continue to try until the bag in my pantry is used up.
    http://www.seejessrun.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

