RSS Feed

Peanut Butter Banana Muffins

Posted on

I did not get Brent any crackers to take with his lunch. (His lunch always has like 5 parts. Dudes eat a lot.) So, I had to make him another component. We had 2 bananas left from last week that were brown, and to spice things up a bit I decided to add some peanut butter too.

hpim26281I wanted to make the lower-fat banana bread from Veganomicon, but I was out of applesauce, so I just decided to play around. I usually find quick breads and muffins are pretty forgiving.

There wasn’t really a method to my madness, I was just throwing stuff into the bowl until it felt like the right consistency. Brent (not normally a muffin man) said they taste good, so he approves.

PEANUT BUTTER BANANA MUFFINS

  • 2 medium, over-ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 cup natural peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon milk
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1 cup AP flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • dash of nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt (if your PB isn’t salted, maybe add 1/2 tsp)
  1. Beat banana, PB, and sugar together until homogenized.
  2. Add in oil and milk and stir to fully combine.
  3. Sift together flours, salt, baking soda and spices.
  4. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and mix until just combined. If mix looks too dry, feel free to add a dash more milk. PBs can vary in consistency.
  5. Fill muffin tins 3/4 of the way full.
  6. Bake at 350 for 15-17 minutes.
  7. I got 11 muffins, but I probably didn’t plan well, so you should be able to get a dozen.

hpim2633

I really like the combination of peanut butter and banana in these. Neither is very “in your face,” but they both work really well together. The muffins aren’t super moist. I think they’re more cakey in texture. I recommend enjoying one of these with a glass of milk. Really tasty. I think I’ll definitely make these again, maybe with some almond butter.

4 responses »

  1. Funny how we both posted our banana recipes on the same day. I kinda wish I saw this recipe earlier so I could try it. πŸ™‚
    http://www.seejessrun.wordpress.com

    Reply
  2. i’m making these tonight! thanks for the recipe!

    Reply
  3. You know the PB banana combo is the best eva! Great muffies. πŸ˜€

    Reply

Leave a Reply

