RSS Feed

The Other Half of the Cauliflower

Posted on

When I buy things like cauliflower, and only part of it is necessary for the recipe, I make sure to have a plan to use the rest of it as well because, frankly, I’m not just going to decide, “Hey. Cauliflower. What a great snack!” That’s just not really my thing. So, because I only used half a head last night, tonight’s dinner featured the other half of the cauliflower. I made Pasta with Spicy Cauliflower from Moosewood Restaurant Cooks at Home. I really like this recipe, very flavorful, and in my world, you really can’t go wrong with pasta. Brent never says much about it, so I think he’s pretty neutral, although he tends to not love chunky shaped pastas. Weird.

hpim2643

There is definitely a lot going on here. Cauliflower in a tomato-olive sauce, spiced up with red pepper flakes and garnished with sauteed bread crumbs and parsley. Oh yeah, there’s some whole wheat pasta under there too. We have some leftover tomatoes and olives, so you’ll be seeing those later on in the week.

6 responses »

  1. Delish!!

    **Don’t eat any PB Cookie Larabars or Jamfrakas bars – they were recalled!!:

    https://www.larabar.com/secure/recall/LARABAR_JAMFRAKAS_FAQ.pdf

    Reply
  2. What a delicious and healthy bowl of pasta! It’s so colorful, I just want to reach into my computer screen and have a bite!!

    Reply
  3. Yup – such a great way to use Cauliflower. I would have boiled it down, and pureed it with cream, maybe butter or olive oil and used it as a base to put under chicken or seared beef…lol – but that’s just me.

    Reply
  4. so creative of you to use cauliflower in pasta… lovely… 🙂

    Reply
  5. yum! excellent use of cauliflower :-). i’ve heard of so many good moosewood recipes!

    Reply
  6. Pingback: I Love Bread « The Idle Loaf

Leave a Reply

