RSS Feed

Quick and Delicious

Posted on

Oh man, class dragged tonight. I guess I was just too exhausted to really get interested. However, my dinner beforehand was great! My favorite thing about this dinner was how quick it was (except for the 2 hours it took to make the bread, but that’s just me). While I was making the list for this week, Brent was browsing through my Self magazine — I think all men do that — and he came across this recipe for Pan Bagnat. It looked good, so I just basically used it as inspiration, but didn’t go out of my way to buy things just for it, so mine had no mustard or red onion. I loved the tuna salad without mayonnaise. Of course, I think the star was the bread, which I can’t really take credit for, because I again used the master boule recipe from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes in its original form this time. Yum!

hpim2648This bread made perfect little sandwiches and was more “special” than just some plain sandwich bread. Once the bread was made, I just threw the tuna ingredients together and sauteed some broccoli with garlic and red pepper flakes, so dinner was on the table in less than 10 minutes. Perfect for right before class. I should try making more sandwiches. I’ve recently come across some tasty looking ones on some blogs that I’ll have to try soon.

hpim2656Now that I’m home from class, we’re having a glass of wine to celebrate inauguration day!

Question: What’s your favorite sandwich? Or your favorite ready in 10 minutes meal? I think I’m going to need a lot of ideas for that this semester!

5 responses »

  1. Yum!!

    **Favorite “ready in 10 minutes” meal = bowl meals composed of LOTS of vegetables, beans, and salsa.

    Reply
  2. pasta, pasta, pasta, pasta, pasta, . . .

    oh yeah, leftovers and couscous, too! 🙂

    Reply
  3. ahh your bread always looks SO good!
    i always try to make meals in 10 minutes, but then i get so into it that it takes way longer and the whole night is gone before i know it. i need to work on this!

    Reply
  4. Yo you made that. I am so jealous of your skill. For real. How did you get the little dots on the bottom like a real baker?

    My favorite sando is fresh basil, tomato, mozz and balsamic vinegar.

    Reply
  5. Heather,
    I cannot take credit for those little dots. It comes from the Baguette Pan I got as a gift.
    http://www.williams-sonoma.com/products/sku8175283/index.cfm?pkey=cbread%2Dpans%2Dloaf%2Dpans&ckey=bread%2Dpans%2Dloaf%2Dpans

    Reply

Leave a Reply

