RSS Feed

Souper

Posted on

I haven’t shown you this week’s lunch item yet, so without further ado, here it is:

hpim2658More black bean soup. Poor Brent. He’s so sick of bean soups, although he did say “the flavor was good on this one.” Unfortunately, I do think it’s a rather sad shade of gray, which I tried to offset with some fresh cilantro. Here’s what went into this one:

  • 2 tablespoons oil
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 green bell pepper, diced
  • 2 carrots, diced
  • 2 stalks of celery, diced
  • 1 jalapeno, minced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • vegetable broth
  • 1 lb. dried black beans, cooked and drained
  • salt, pepper, dried tarragon, cumin, coriander, cilantro

It’s all pretty simple. Nothing new here folks. Alright, off to work on this afternoon’s to-do list: run, clean, study, dinner. It’s still freezing out, but the sun is out, so maybe I’ll try to squeeze in a walk to get some Vitamin D. 🙂

4 responses »

  1. I LOVE bean soups!! Send leftovers!! 😀

    Reply
  2. Wow, that soup looks amazing! I think Brent and my boyfriend are in the same boat – Bill is so sick of me making concoctions with black beans.

    Reply
  3. mmm black bean soup!! if it tastes ANYTHING like the one at panera, count me in! 😉

    Reply
  4. I love black bean soup. I’m going to try a recipe that uses beer.
    http://www.seejessrun.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

