RSS Feed

Friday Night Fiesta!

Posted on

Tonight’s dinner, (I swear it was a real dinner even though it totally looks like junk food), was awesome! Last week when I was making the grocery list, I asked Brent what he wanted for dinner and he said “Nachos!” I’m sure he was joking a little bit, but it sounded good to me so I went with it.

hpim2673On top of that pile of tortilla chips are refried beans, cheese sauce, and “salsa.” The refried beans were made by cooking and draining some pinto beans. Then I heated a bit of oil in a skillet, added in some minced garlic and sauteed. Next I threw in the cooked beans and a bit of their cooking liquid, added some cumin, chili powder and salt and a bit of lime juice, smashed with a potato masher and voila! Yum!

The cheese sauce is just a roux of butter and flour, a cup of skim milk simmered and thickened and then I melted in some sharp cheddar with a dash of salt and some cayenne pepper. Love cheesy sauces! πŸ™‚

Finally, the “salsa” was just diced tomatoes, chopped green onions and cilantro with a bit of lime juice, all mixed together. This meal was so delicious and wonderfully junk foody – perfect for a Friday night – but it also had fiber and protein from the beans, and thanks to my plentiful amount of salsa, quite a bit of veggie goodness as well. I tried to go heavy on the beans and salsa, so I felt pretty good about it.

To go with our yummy nachos, we had our Friday Night Cocktail – Margaritas!! We do not have margarita glasses though, but we managed to survive just fine without them.

hpim26771

I’m normally a wuss with margaritas and get the frozen fruity kind, but this homemade, on-the-rocks version, made with tequila, triple sec, lime juice, lime cordial and simple syrup, was really good — a lot like the whiskey sours we like, but with tequila. πŸ˜‰

I hope I have a productive weekend. We have an open house to go to tomorrow, but I’m hoping to do a lot of studying as well.

What is everyone else doing this weekend? Anything exciting?

6 responses »

  1. So colorful!!

    Enjoy your weekend!! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Mexican night! Woohoo! On-the-whim dinners are always so fun. I like the homemade salsa that you just whipped together too. Hah!

    Reply
  3. invite me over, too! i love how you describe each step like it was so easy — “i just …” — and then proceed to describe something entirely complex and intricate. the mark of a true chef πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. strongandhealthy

    Your dinner looks amazing! My mouth is seriously watering right now!

    http://www.strongandhealthy.wordpress.com

    Reply
  5. The nachos look amazing! Now I have Mexican cravings…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

