RSS Feed

Smoked Salmon Sandwiches

Posted on

I loved this dinner. Like really loved it. Kind of weird considering it’s just a sandwich, but it was great. Last week while I was nibbling on some of the smoked salmon leftover from the Twice Baked Potatoes, I was really loving on the smoky flavor of it and then genius struck… Bacon is smoked. I miss BLTs. I should totally make a Smoked Salmon, Lettuce & Tomato sandwich. Yep. I really thought this had genius written all over it (not that I think too highly of myself or anything), and I was totally right.

hpim2698

I really got the BLT-esque flavor from this sandwich, and Brent’s response was “Yeah I see what you were going for.” Something about this sandwich just really hit the spot. It only had 5 ingredients, but everything worked perfectly together. I just mixed a little bit of mayonnaise with the smoked salmon and layered that with some mixed greens and sliced tomato. The bread was, again, the Master Boule recipe from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes. Someday I will buy this book and find out if all the rest of the recipes are equally as amazing. I’m sure they are. Check out a close up of those beautiful holes… and that crust. So delicious.

hpim2700The texture of this bread is outstanding. I am completely non-biased here. I do need to check the book out sometime to see if there are whole grain recipes in it, because, while I LOVE this bread, I feel like I should probably not eat so much refined flour. In the background are some mashed sweet potatoes, made by baking the sweet potato and then mashing it with a bit of Smart Balance, some salt and Garam Masala.

Off to get some shut eye. I have a long day tomorrow – 6am to 10pm!!

5 responses »

  1. SWEET POTATOES!!!!! Love.

    Good luck with your long day tomorrow!!

    Reply
  2. wow. that sandwich looks to die for!!
    yumo! and so prettttty!

    Reply
  3. love those sweet potatoes!!! and the sandwich looks so amazing. the bread looks awesome

    Reply
  4. Mmm, healthy healthy dinner. The sandwich looks great!

    Reply
  5. I LOVE smoked salmon — the sandwich looks so good! My sandwiches never look good. 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

