RSS Feed

Very Veggieful

Posted on

I made it! Of course, it’s winter in Indiana, so we’re expecting 4-7 inches of snow and it started just as I was about to leave work, slowing down my already super tight dinner time-line! I got home at 5:34pm, threw some shrimp into a non-stick skillet to cook, whisked a balsamic dressing together and dumped everything in a bowl with some veggies I chopped on Sunday. I was flying around that kitchen like a Whirling Dervish! This is why I love doing prep work ahead. Dinner was on the table by 5:45!

hpim2705This piled high salad included some bagged salad mix (it’s under there somewhere), cucumbers, carrots, frozen corn and peas, and diced roasted red peppers. I’m sure this was delicious, although I barely remember tasting it because I was in such a hurry to get out the door. The dressing was good, although I’m not sure if Brent liked it. He of course added chili paste to his. For the dressing I whisked: 3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar, 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil, 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard, 2 teaspoons honey, salt and pepper. Perfect because I have some extra for the rest of our salad mix this week.

Today was my longest day, so it’s all down hill from here! I’m very excited about tomorrow night’s dinner — it’s a “new to us” recipe that I’ve been meaning to make for a while now, so I hope it lives up to my excitement. Brent thinks it may be a bit abnormal to get so excited about dinner, but I like to look forward to little things to get through the week, and bigger things too! We have some friends coming a few weeks for a visit, which is always a lot of fun.

What things (big or small) are you looking forward to?

6 responses »

  1. I’m looking forward to vacation, getting my camera fixed, training for my marathon, valentines day…. wow that’s not even all of it.. I have A LOT of things I’m looking forward to! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Great idea to do so much prep beforehand, I really need to do more of that!
    I’m looking forward to seeing my husband this weekend!!

    Reply
  3. Hi Victoria – Thanks for your comment on my blog! I’m gonna poke around yours now. πŸ™‚

    I’m looking forward to my birthday next Wednesday!

    Reply
  4. can’t wait to see what this dinner recipe is!! tell brent it is TOTALLY normal to get excited about dinner.

    i’m looking forward to sleeping in 5 … 4 … 3 … 2 … zzzzzz

    Reply
  5. YUM!!

    I’m looking forward to the end of the semester πŸ˜€

    Reply
  6. ooo colorful salad!

    Im looking forward to FRIDAY!!!

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.everygymsnightmare.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

