RSS Feed

Alton Brown’s Hummus with Peanut Butter

Posted on

Today’s lunch was just some hummus and veggies, but I’ll probably just snack my way through the afternoon, content in the knowledge that I survived another Indiana snow storm and am now back inside my warm house.

hpim2706

As a lot of you know, tahini is a major ingredient in hummus. What some of you may also know is that tahini is really expensive, at least here in the fort it is. Tahini also sounds exotic, which means 18 year old me would never have eaten it. Hard to believe now, but at that age I was surviving on Lucky Charms, Mountain Dew and chips & salsa. Obviously there was no way I was cooking either. Not happening. So when we first were dating and got married, Brent did all the cooking, not because he loves cooking, but because he was 23 at that time and had learned a little bit about being an adult and taking care of himself. Me, not so much.

Anyway, back to the point of this post. One of the first things Brent made for me was Alton Brown’s hummus. Making hummus for a girl whose main food requirements were that it contain cheese or sugar was a pretty bold move, but that’s just the kind of man Brent is. Turns out I liked the hummus, so much so that for a while the only kind I would eat was the peanut butter hummus, although I’ve since expanded my horizons.

We’ve made hummus with tahini and that has been very tasty too, but I have a hard time buying a $9 jar of tahini when I can make something equally delicious with a $3 jar of peanut butter. So this is a very good alternative when you’re out of tahini and don’t have room for it in the budget.

I’ve been dreaming about moving… which I’m sure annoys Brent since I dragged him back to the midwest, but a girl can dream. I’d like to live somewhere more walkable, ideally where I didn’t need to own a car. Driving in this weather terrifies me.

Where would you move if you could go anywhere?

7 responses »

  1. Love Alton Brown’s recipes!! 🙂

    I hear ya – the weather is BEYOND dangerous right now for driving. Stay safe!!

    Reply
  2. Hmmm . . . lately, Morocco has sounded better and better.

    (I HATE my job right now. So much that I want to get out of the country!??!)

    Reply
  3. After visiting Munich, I kind of want to move there.

    I love eating hummus for lunch with lots of stuff to dip in it. Takes forever.

    Reply
  4. I would live in Hilton head, South Carolina.
    It doesn’t sound that exotic but you can walk everywhere and the ocean is right there.
    I do remember those days of Lucky Charms and mountain dew, you have come a long, long, way.

    Reply
  5. I sooooo want to live in Milan, Italy – gorgeous, nice weather, and perfect food/wine 🙂

    So wait, can you taste the PB in the hummus? Sounds like a great recipe regardless!

    Reply
  6. K, you really can’t taste the peanut butter. People who are familiar with hummus might say “Oh, there’s something different about this one,” but it’s not a pronounced taste.

    Reply
  7. Thanks for this! I was just thinking yesterday that I want to make real hummus (not just all the other ingredients, minus tahini), but I’m way to cheap to buy tahini and wondered if I could sub PB. I will try it soon. Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

