RSS Feed

Friday Night Cocktail & Saturday Night Grocery Shop

Posted on

After the week we had, I felt a Friday Night Cocktail was a must. We didn’t want to really buy alcohol, so I used what we had in the house: tequila! I made a tequila sunrise with 1 ounce tequila, 4 ounces orange juice, and a splash of grenadine.

tequila

I had a fairly full day today. From 10-2 I was attending volunteer training at our local animal shelter, where I’ll be volunteering one afternoon a week. I’m happy to be helping, because this is the same place we got Larry from. (Brent has made me promise I won’t bring anymore dogs into our home :)) After that, I studied a bit, made it to the gym for a run, and then went grocery shopping.

This week’s meal planning was a little unusual because we’ll be gone on Thursday and Friday. My brother’s graduation from basic combat training in Friday morning in Fort Knox, so we’ll be traveling down there and spending Thursday with my family and coming back Friday afternoon, so we bought quite a few car snacks so we don’t have to stop for food during the drives.

THE GOODS

hpim2719THE LIST:

  • eggplant
  • shallots
  • onions
  • ginger
  • cilantro
  • garlic
  • Yukon Gold potatoes
  • bananas
  • 1 sweet potato
  • apples
  • 1 avocado
  • 1 Roma tomato
  • Dates (I’m making my BSI entry tomorrow morning!)
  • cumin
  • 14oz can diced tomatoes
  • 28oz can crushed tomatoes
  • Celestial Seasonings Chocolate Caramel Enchantment Chai tea
  • tortilla chips
  • little bag of kettle chips
  • Planter’s Fruit & Nut Trail Mix
  • KIND Almond Coconut Bar
  • Clif Maple Nut Bar
  • chopped walnuts
  • 1 Chobani Blueberry Greek Yogurt
  • 1 gallon skim milk
  • eggs
  • frozen green beans

All for a grand total of $47.12, and this should feed us until Saturday morning breakfast. ๐Ÿ™‚

I hope everyone is having a great weekend! I’m making Brent’s favorite dip and some guacamole for myself for the Super Bowl tomorrow. Yum! Anyone doing anything exciting for it?

4 responses »

  1. recovering from my sugery , watching the game at home, making nachos, looking forward to seeing the comercials

    Reply
  2. Nice drink ๐Ÿ™‚ Love grocery pics!!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Sea Breeze Mixed Drink Cocktail

  4. Huge amount of produce. Nice.
    http://www.seejessrun.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

