RSS Feed

Burger & Fries

Posted on

Man, Mondays are LONG! I got a lot of stuff in today including getting some blood drawn, and a 4 hour microbiology lab. Jealousy abounds I’m sure. Before that fun lab, I had a really filling dinner of a black bean burger, sweet potato fries, and some salad.

hpim2739You may notice some of the fries are burnt. They are infitely better that way. Crunch is delicious. I just roast them in an oven at 425 for like 25 minutes or so, and season them with salt, pepper and garam masala.

The buns are made from my half-whole wheat variation of the master boule recipe from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes. Very good. The burgers are composed of leftover cooked black beans, ground oats, sriracha, green onions, onions, garlic, cumin, salt, pepper and a flax egg to bind it all together. There was absolutely no measuring involved in these. I pan-fried them in olive oil for about 3 minutes on either side and finished them in the oven for about 5 minutes with the fries. These are much thicker and heartier than the store bought black bean burgers I’ve had.

hpim2741I like how you can tell what is all in the burger. Really quick and easy and tasty. A definite make again meal.

Tomorrow is another long day. I’m trying to fit in work, volunteering at the shelter, a run, class (including an exam!!), studying for that exam, and of course food!

6 responses »

  1. You made that burger? It looks so good! I love the burnt, crispy fries.

    Reply
  2. BLACK BEAN BURGER & SWEET POTATO FRIES?!?!??! Oooh, I want that 🙂

    Hang in there with the stressful week!!

    Reply
  3. wow, what an intricate burger! i’ve got to give homemade bean burgers another try.

    and i’m so with you on the fries — every time i bake something, i accidentally burn it on purpose because the crunch and flavor get so much better! (just don’t tell my mom because she’s convinced that all the char will give me cancer!)

    Reply
  4. I want to make those sweet potato fries. I love sweet potatoes

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Black Bean Burgers with Cilantro Mayonnaise « The Idle Loaf

  6. Pingback: Thickburger « The Idle Loaf

Leave a Reply

