RSS Feed

A Lighter Spin on Risotto

Posted on

How’s everyones’ Tuesday going? I feel pretty good about mine. Feeling productive, and crossing things off my to-do list always makes me happy. 🙂 I make lists almost entirely for the satisfaction of crossing things off them. I’m aware list-making is a pretty nerdy hobby, so no need to tell me. Moving on, let me tell you about a very tasty dinner we had that got lost somewhere in the shuffle of this past Superbowl weekend.

A few weeks ago while I was planning some meals, I saw this guest post on Tina’s blog from Lauren. Ever since making one of Jamie Oliver’s risottos, I’ve fallen in love with risotto, so I thought this sounded like a great spin on the dish, and Brent was in favor of it as well. I made it this past weekend, and it was definitely really good, although very different from the risottos I’ve been making. No wine or butter! I guess that’s what happens when Cooking Light makes a risotto.

hpim27241

Because we were having it as a main dish and not a side, I beefed it up by adding more veggies, including an onion. Next time, I would add some black beans too. There was a nice balance in this dish because you get all the creaminess of risotto, but it definitely feels less rich and heavy.

Bummer about that groundhog yesterday, huh? So cold!! Tomorrow is my last day of work this week, and then we’re headed on to Fort Knox, Kentucky, which has been devastated by a recent ice storm and is expecting more snow today and tomorrow. Hopefully all goes well while we’re there. Then this weekend, we might actually do something and get out of the house to see a movie. We like to live life in the fast lane. 😉

 If you need to add some excitement to your own life, check out Hangry Pants for a chance to win a jar of almond butter! 🙂

5 responses »

  1. It looks delicious! I have yet to make my own risotto, but definitely need to one of these days.

    Reply
  2. Risotto is soooooooo good! Yours looks fabulous 🙂

    Reply
  3. Cooking Light has great risotto recipes.

    Reply
  4. I haven’t made risotto in ages! Glad to hear yours was so good.

    Reply
  5. If excessive list making is wrong, i don’t want to be right!.

    The risotto looks amazing 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

