RSS Feed

Breakfast for Dinner

Posted on

I’m in such a good mood! I finished my first test — and it went well! My grandmother (who had been hospitalized the past 2 weeks with a host of problems) was just released this afternoon and is back at home. πŸ™‚ Dog-walking was fun. There is a yellow lab puppy that just got adopted that looks just like the dog from the Marley & Me posters. Now that my exam was this week is over, I’m feeling relieved, and like I have a bit of breathing room tomorrow.

Unfortunately we found out that my brother did not complete all the requirements for graduation, so he will not be graduating this week and we will not be going to Kentucky.

Back to the food…. One of my go to meals for the nights I have school is a frittata. They’re perfect because they’re quick and cheap and you can use absolutely whatever you have on hand. Tonight’s was some steamed broccoli, onion, roasted red pepper and pepper jack cheese. I’m really loving on roasted peppers right now. Yum.

hpim2749On the side, I made some roasted potatoes (which I think go with absolutely everything).

A note on tea…

hpim2746

A while ago I ordered some tea from Zhena’s Gypsy Tea and loved it! Really, I think it is the best brand of tea I’ve had. Brent wasn’t super pleased with the shipping charges, so I’ve been savoring them slowly. I tried the Coconut Chai — which is the best chai I’ve tried, and the Pumpkin Spice which is like heaven with a teaspoon of honey. Perfect for when I’m freezing and trying to thaw by the fire. I want to try the chocolate chai. Maybe next time. Unfortunately, I’m running precipitously low on this gourmet tea supply, so I was just wondering if you’re a tea drinker, what are your favorites?

11 responses »

  1. If anyone’s wondering, I’m not examining the tea; I’m trying to determine whether or not a doll is saying “Islam is the light.” It was not.

    Reply
  2. dinner looks delish! and I LOVE chai tea.

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.everygymsnightmare.com

    Reply
  3. Oh my gosh that fritatta looks amazing! I have been hearing so much about them…do you have to have a special pan? I want to jump through the screen and eat it. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. Hi Holly,
    I don’t use a special pan — just a 10″ oven-safe non-stick skillet. It is really easy and quick! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. Glad your grandma was released from the hospital! That frittata sounds outstanding πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. i love frittatas, and that one looks fantabulous πŸ™‚ those teas, i must find!!

    Reply
  7. congrats on all the good news! bummer about the change of plans for bro’s graduation (or are you glad to have one less thing to do?).

    i love my sugar cookie sleigh ride tea (and soon you will, too!) as you know. and i’m also craaazy about earl grey – esp twinings brand.

    Reply
  8. thanks for commenting on my blog πŸ™‚ i’m a big tea drinker. i love rooibos tea (it’s kind of naturally sweet, so you don’t need sugar), green tea, and rice tea. and there was some random chocolatey tea that i picked up once that was amaaaazing. it was gone pretty quickly though.

    Reply
  9. I love the pumpkin spice flavored tea. Do you have any World Markets or Cost Plus near you? That is where I bought mine!

    Reply
  10. Wow, that tea sounds great! I bet it’s absolutely delicious.

    I love tea – http://www.hangrypants.com/2008/12/she-says-dont-forget-the-tea/

    There is a picture of my current stash. If you want to try a couple, I could send you some bags.

    The gypsy tea is lemon jasmine and it’s good.

    I am also loving the Organic White Tea in Peach Blossom, but that’s a lose tea.

    Reply
  11. That frittata looks so good! Maybe I’ll try making one soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

