RSS Feed

Back to Nature Maple Nut Medley

Posted on

As I’ve said before, Brent and I like to check out the clearance rack at the back of the grocery store when we go. More often than not, it’s a bunch of junk, like completely pulverized tortilla chips and whatnot. However, occasionally I spot a gem. Last week was one such occasion, when I found this cereal. I felt compelled to purchase for two reasons: I really like maple flavored things, and I’ve tried other Back to Nature products, including their Harvest Whole Wheats, and Brent and I both absolutely love them. So I felt good going into the purchase, plus it was 50% off.

hpim2721The verdict: I really liked this cereal, but I was a bit surprised by how little I could taste the maple. It had a subtle sweetness to it, but I wouldn’t say the cereal tastes “sweet.” A major factor in my enjoyment was the fact that this cereal did not get soggy at all. Soggy cereal grosses me out, and for that reason I do not like very much milk in my cereal. This retains its crunch. Also, I really liked the chopped nuts in it to break up the flakes. I would really recommend it, although I don’t eat it for breakfast, pretty much only as a snack, so I can’t say it has amazing satiating power or anything like that because I don’t really know.

Overall, I’ve really loved all the Back to Nature products I’ve tried. Like I said before, those Harvest Whole Wheats are amazing. After eating those, I’ve been very hesitant to eat Triscuits anymore. No comparison.

No exciting homemade food from me tonight – I had the chance for some free Indian take-out at lunch, so obviously I jumped on that wagon (Channa Masala, Navratan Korma, not to mention the naan… Drool), and then we went out for dinner because I was in the mood. 🙂

7 responses »

  1. yum yum yum on the indian food! must take advantage of those chances 🙂

    great find on the cereal!

    Reply
  2. Thanks for the review – sounds great!

    Reply
  3. I love the discount area. For awhile, the stop & shop back home was having clearance sales every week. It was such fun!

    Reply
  4. My husband and I love the harvest whole wheats too! They taste like the reduced fat wheat thins, minus the junk ingredients 🙂
    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I love yours… I’m sticking around for more!

    Reply
  5. ive never seen this- sounds good though. im not a big sweet fan, i like subtle sweet so maybe this is right up my alley.

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.everygymsnightmare.com

    Reply
  6. I love Indian food and I’m going to try to make some this week.
    http://www.seejessrun.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

