RSS Feed

Perfectly Portioned Plated

Posted on

Congratulations Matt!!

We found out my brother is actually graduating tomorrow! Unfortunately the decision was made on such short notice that we weren’t able to be there, but my mom, dad, brother and sister all made it down so the Davis family is well represented. πŸ™‚

Tonight’s dinner reminds me of of these place mats we have hanging in the break room at my office. It’s a picture of a plate divided into quarters, filled half with veggies, 1/4 with lean protein and 1/4 with a starch. It kind of makes me laugh when I see it because it’s right on the fridge and I think I’m the only one who sees it because every one else goes out to eat nearly every day.

hpim2756My “lean protein” portion of the plate was a salmon cake. I mixed a 7oz can of wild boneless salmon, 1 eggs, 1/4 cup ground oatmeal, 1/2 tablespoon wasabi paste, 2 chopped scallions, and 1 teaspoon soy sauce and portioned into patties (I ended up making 3). I let them chill in the fridge about 30 minutes and then pan-fried them in olive oil for about 4 minutes on each side. Brent made a dipping sauce for the cakes from hoisin sauce, soy sauce and sriracha. Yum!

Our veggies and starch were sauteed broccoli and roasted potatoes because I really love potatoes. It was quick and easy, which made it easy for me to get to class on time, where I found out I did really well on my first exam! πŸ™‚ I finished my lab early, which worked out well so I could make it to the gym for a run with Brent because it was too crowded when I tried to go earlier. Unfortunately my run was kind of a bust. I just felt physically crummy. Blah. But I’m over it because the plan for the rest of the evening looks like this along with the 2 hour Grey’s Anatomy/Private Practice. πŸ™‚

hpim2761I’ve missed red wine. I’ve cut it out the past few months because it inhibits iron absorption (along with black tea and coffee, but I can’t cut out everything :() and I’m trying to get my iron levels up, but it so delicious!

Tomorrow is FRIDAY!!! I have a bit of stuff to do, and some studying, but I’m hoping to do a fun baking project too! πŸ™‚

4 responses »

  1. yay for your brother!! enjoy your friday πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. CONGRATULATIONS TO MATT!!

    TGIF!!

    Reply
  3. CONGRATULATIONS MATT!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

