RSS Feed

Spicy Peanut & Eggplant Soup

Posted on

Its cold. I’m not complaining, merely stating an excruciatingly obvious fact. Spring cannot come quickly enough. I can handle the cold (by handle I mean curl up in a down blanket and sit by the fire) when I’m at home, but I’ve been running around a lot this morning, getting test results, some quick shopping, and a trip to the post office where I mailed my Secret Valentine Exchange Gift! I’m back home and planning to stay that way until I go get Brent from work. I’m planning to use my time wisely and do some reviewing for my entrance exam. 😦

One of the things I love about cooking and baking is how a recipe almost never tastes the same each time you make it. Use the same ingredients, the same method, but there will still be a slight difference. Unfortunately though, that sometimes means things aren’t as wonderful the second time around. I made the Spicy Peanut and Eggplant Soup from Veganomicon a while ago, truthfully I have no idea how long ago, but it has definitely been awhile. I remember really liking it, as I do with most soups that have peanut butter in them. I find them very warming and soothing.

hpim2752No one would ever call this soup bad. I certainly wouldn’t and I doubt you would either. It’s a good soup. Just not as great as I remembered. The broth is the standout; slightly spicy and buttery feeling, I really love it. I’m not really feeling the chunky veggies in it this time around though. I just want that cube of eggplant and rings of shallots to get out of my way and leave me to my delicious, soothing, peanuty broth. Alas. I ate it, chunky vegetables and all, but with so many wonderful soups to make, I don’t know that this will be making a reappearance too soon.

But I really do LOVE soups with peanut butter in them, so if you have any that I should make, send them my way. 🙂

4 responses »

  1. Too bad about the soup!!

    Reply
  2. Sorry the soup wasn’t up to par – it still looks pretty though 🙂

    Reply
  3. i like pad thai noodles because they have pb, but that’s not a soup 😛

    Reply
  4. my fav pnut butter recipe-of all time- is in the very old and wonderful Recipes for a Small Planet. It is a mexican taco filling w/ ingreds: roasted pnuts, sunflower seeds, cumin, onion, tomato paste…..
    just amazing. the acid of the tomato- makes for a very good counterpoint to the nuttiness.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

