RSS Feed

Black Bean Burgers with Cilantro Mayonnaise

Posted on

Today has been a pretty long day. I’ve spent a lot of it studying for my microbiology exam tomorrow. I’m really on information overload. The weather was still warmish (for Indiana in February anyway), so I got in a run outside, followed by some restorative yoga. I managed to be fairly productive in the kitchen as well.

When planning this week’s menu, I knew we still had some dried beans to use, so I decided on some more black bean burgers. These were awesome! I made them about the same way as I did last week, but I tried to be a bit more precise so that I could repeat them and have the same results, and that means you all can make your own now too! Also, the mayonnaise really put these over the top, in my opinion. Brent actually gave a double thumbs-up in the midst of chewing.
hpim2816

SPICY BLACK BEAN BURGERS

  • ~2 cups cooked black beans (can just use one can, thoroughly rinsed and drained)
  • 1 egg, beaten (or egg replacer as I used last week)
  • 1/2 cup ground oats
  • 1/4 cup red onion, diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 tablespoon sriracha (or a big sprinkle of red pepper flakes)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cracked black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons cilantro, chopped
  • 1-2 tablespoons canola oil for pan-frying
  1. Saute the red onion and garlic until softened, about 8 minutes.
  2. Combine all ingredients (except oil) and thoroughly mix and mash until pretty homogeneous, leaving a few whole beans.
  3. Divide mixture into 4 equal portions.
  4. Heat oil in large non-stick skillet over medium-high heat.
  5. Place burgers carefully into the oil, one at a time. (I find it easiest just to cook them 2 at a time).
  6. After 4 minutes, flip and cook another 4 minutes. They should feel firm to the touch when finished.
  7. Serve with cilantro mayonnaise or whatever condiments you like. 🙂

The cilantro mayonnaise was 2 tablespoons mayonnaise mixed with 2 tablespoons cilantro. (Brent added sriracha to his mayonnaise as well). These were so good!! I made some whole wheat buns, using my half whole wheat overnight bread recipe, which I need to post tomorrow now that I think I’ve got the proportions right.

On the side, we had some caramelized beets. I’ve noticed we always tend to eat the same veggies as sides: roasted green beans, sauteed broccoli and roasted potatoes, with the occasional sweet potato fry thrown in. I’m trying to make sure at least one meal a week includes a veggie that is not one of those, in an effort to get more variety in. We like others, but when I am feeling uninspired, I always fall back on those boring basics.

Tonight we had baby beets, quartered and tossed with a tablespoon each of olive oil and balsamic vinegar and a sprinkle of salt and pepper. They were roasted in the oven at 425 for about 30 minutes, until the outsides were crispy and crunchy and the insides soft and delicious.

Tomorrow will be a bit of a busy day too, starting with getting our car to the shop and picking up our rental car, and ending at 10pm when my exam is over. This week will hopefully go by quickly, because I am really looking forward to next Saturday! I finally get to see Milk, and Brent is making dinner. 🙂

I hope your week gets off to a good start tomorrow!!

7 responses »

  1. Yum!!

    Good luck with the busyness tomorrow!!

    Reply
  2. oooh, i’m so going to try your method for carmelized beets!

    Reply
  3. These look delicious! I love how they are a uniform shape! Mine are always a little um, spacially challenged.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Leftover Burger and a New Side « The Idle Loaf

  5. Pingback: Thickburger « The Idle Loaf

  6. Pingback: Year End Review « The Idle Loaf

Leave a Reply

