RSS Feed

Peanutty Noodles

Posted on

Got to make this snappy because I’m zonked. Cross-eyed and kooky after an insane exam and 3 hours of staining and microscopic examination. Blah.

Dinner was delicious, and consumed in about 1.816 seconds. That happened for a number of reasons. First, I was starving — I killed myself lifting at the gym (I hate wall sits!) and also, I literally had 4 minutes to eat before I had to leave.

hpim2840SPICY PEANUT NOODLES

  • 6oz whole wheat spaghetti
  • 1 head broccoli, chopped (about 2 cups)
  • 1 block extra-firm tofu, pressed, drained and diced
  • 2 carrots, shredded
  • 3 tablespoons creamy peanut butter
  • 3 tablespoons reduced sodium soy sauce
  • 3 tablespoons rice wine vinegar
  • 1/2 tablespoon sriracha (or red pepper flakes) (adjust to your taste buds)
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  1. Cook pasta according to package directions.
  2. When pasta has about 2 minutes left to cook, throw broccoli into the pot with it.
  3. Meanwhile, cook the tofu however you like. You can bake it, or pan-fry it. I tried to pan-fry.
  4. While pasta and tofu cook, in a small saucepan, whisk together peanut butter, soy sauce, vinegar, sriracha, and garlic until smooth. Simmer sauce about 5 minutes. If the sauce is too thick for your liking (mine was pretty thick but I like it that way), you can thin it out a bit with a tablespoon or two of the pasta cooking water.
  5. Drain pasta and broccoli and put in a large bowl.
  6. Add carrots and cooked tofu.
  7. Dump in sauce and mix around until everything is coated.
  8. Enjoy!

I really enjoyed this. Peanut butter and spiciness go so well together. The tofu was pretty lackluster. No crispy crust on it. I don’t think I can really fry things that well. Brent will remain Tofu King in our house. This makes 2 or 3 servings. I think like 2 servings, and then a bitty baby portion that I may eat with lunch tomorrow (assuming Brent did not eat it while I was at class tonight.)

If you haven’t already, check out Meghann’s Blogging Bake Sale! Everything looks great and is going like crazy. The toffee is going for $40!

3 responses »

  1. Look at you getting all gym rat on us!

    I love peanut noodles so much. I am always looking for new variations to try. Thanks.

    Reply
  2. DELISH!!!!

    Hope you got some rest!!

    Reply
  3. i’ve failed every time i’ve tried to make peanut noodles, but they always taste so delicious at parties and restaurants. I’ll have to try your way!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

