RSS Feed

Whole Wheat Overnight Bread

Posted on

I really love the Master Boule recipe from Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day, but I wanted a whole wheat version. There may very well be such a version in the book, but I still haven’t bought a copy because I’m too cheap I’ve been very busy. The first time I just tried to make the recipe as stated but subbed whole wheat flour, just to see what the density would be like.

hpim2821

I think the whole wheat flour absorbs way too much water for that to come out as well as the white version, so I’ve been trying again, playing with the proportions. I think I finally found the one that works best for me. It makes crusty bread, with a soft, chewy interior and lots of air holes.

hpim2825

WHOLE WHEAT OVERNIGHT BREAD

  • 11oz all-purpose flour
  • 15oz whole wheat flour
  • 24oz room temp water
  • 1.5 tablespoons yeast
  • 1.5 teaspoons kosher salt
  1. Dissolve the yeast in water.
  2. Add flours, and salt and mix until no dry spots remain.
  3. Let rise about 2-3 hours, and then place in a bowl, covered with plastic wrap in the fridge. The dough will last a while in the fridge. I usually use it all within a week or so.
  4. When you want to make bread, the dough will be sticky, just loosely shape dough into desired shape, or just stick it in a loaf pan.
  5. Bake at 425 until done. For example, my 8×4″ loaf pan took about 30 minutes. Last night burger buns took about 20.

This is a versatile recipe. I made baguettes for soup, a regular sandwich loaf, and burger buns with it. Brent really likes this whole wheat version, so I think I’ve finally got the right proportion of white to wheat.

P.S.!!

Remember when I made this awesome toffee?

hpim2093

Well head on over to Meghann’s blog to bid on some, made by yours truly! They would make an awesome Valentine’s gift! If toffee’s not your thing, there will be tons of other delicious baked goods to bid on as well. All proceeds will go to the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society!

11 responses »

  1. I wish I wasn’t afraid of baking with yeast 😦 Please tell me it’s not as hard as it seems!!

    Reply
  2. K,
    It’s so easy! If you’re scared, this would be a great recipe to try – it is foolproof I promise! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Nice work, Victoria! What a gorgeous open crumb you ended up with. Terrific!

    Reply
  4. That looks so good! I came across your blog after seeing your awesome toffee listed on Meghann’s bake sale. It’s so cool to see a fellow future nurse! I’m 26 and am currently taking pre-requisite courses to start a nursing program this Fall. 🙂

    Reply
  5. Amy,
    Thanks for stopping by! I hope you stick around! 🙂 It’s very cool to see another nursing student. (seems like future RD is wayyy more common) Hope your classes are going well! Microbio is kind of annoying me right now.

    Reply
  6. Gorgeous bread. Good to know that you can leave the dough in the fridge for awhile and bake later.
    http://www.seejessrun.com

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Spicing Things Up « The Idle Loaf

  8. Can’t wait to try the bread recipe. Your site is very nice!

    Reply
  9. Elizabeth Sutaria

    I made this bread yesterday after first happening to
    see this website for a bread that was “homemade”but
    did not require all the steps of more traditional
    yeast bread recipes.It is so great I made three loaves
    of it!! It has much less salt than the commercially
    baked loaf I had in my fridge—1.5tsp is not a lot when I calculated that the “bought” bread had 3920 mg.
    per loaf!Elizabeth

    Reply
  10. Would you care to convert this to cups for me? Thanks! I really want to try this recipe!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

