RSS Feed

Happy Valentine’s Day!

We’re not super huge into celebrating Valentine’s Day. Well, that’s probably a lie. I’m into celebrating everything, but Brent — not so much. Our anniversary is in 2 weeks :), so we celebrate that a little more. However, our Valentine’s Day tradition (except for 2007 because we got 17 inches of snow and everything was closed) is for Brent to make a fancy dinner for us at home.

In 2006 he made shrimp cocktail, some sort of delicious creamy pasta with bacon and peas in it, and chocolate fondue for dessert. Last year he made the shrimp cocktail again (it’s one of my favorites. I love the homemade sauce), steak au poivre, and creme brulee, along with a delicious blueberry martini.

I like the idea of being surprised, but the concept of delayed gratification is just something I haven’t mastered, so I already know what he’s making this year and I am so excited!!! It includes a lot of my favorites! Unfortunately Brent has to work this weekend 😦 so I won’t see him all day, which is probably for the best because I have a mountain of homework, studying and cleaning to do, but I’ll post a recap of dinner later tonight or tomorrow (or maybe I should have him do it!)

Oh, the point of this post was that I wanted to quickly mention my breakfast, which was a potato and red onion frittata.

hpim2860I usually make a frittata and some roasted potatoes on the side, but this morning I just combined everything because we didn’t really have much else to put into the frittata. Yum! It was basically layers of sliced potatoes held together by eggs. I need to put potatoes into the eggs more often!

hpim2861Also, per Heather’s suggestion, I put just a tiny bit of almond extract in my coffee this morning and it was awesome! 🙂 I love finding another use for one of my favorite ingredients!

What is everyone else doing today? I can’t wait to hear about it. Have an awesome day!

4 responses »

  1. happy valentines day!! Im about to go shower and then we are checking into our hotel!

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.everygymsnightmare.com

    Reply
  2. Nice website! your breakfast looks yummy.

    Reply
  3. Almond extract in the coffee and that fritatta look like a great way to start Valentine’s Day! Have a good one 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

