RSS Feed

Green Pea and Lemon Risotto

Tonight’s dinner was picked by Brent. He was skimming through Veganomicon and said “Here. Let’s make this. We have all the ingredients.” I was fine with it, although I pointed out that I was somewhat skeptical of a risotto without butter or cheese. Brent’s response, “Oh yeah it’s vegan. I didn’t think about that.”

hpim28901I have a confession. I cheated — I added about 2 tablespoons of Parmesan to the risotto. It just felt necessary. Also, I just used a jarred roasted red pepper rather than roasting my own as the recipe calls for and then diced it up and threw it in the pot. I really liked the risotto without all the butter and cheese though. This tasted very bright, and springy. Brent was equally impressed. To go with it, we had a salad with some of last night’s fabulous dressing. I love this stuff!

hpim2892

Now I’m just finishing up some baking and soup making for our lunches this week and hoping to be in bed pretty soon for our super early Monday. Because I like to end Sunday night on a positive, cheerful note, here are some things I’m looking forward to this week: I have some fun dinners planned for later this week, including a yummy pizza on Friday night, and the OSCARS are on Sunday! I love watching them. I think we’ll be going to a party at one of Brent’s co-workers’ to watch. Speaking of that, I need to think of something to bring. Any ideas for finger foods?

5 responses »

  1. Great risotto!!

    Good luck with your early Monday!!

    **Finger foods = can’t go wrong with mini pizzas or a hummus & vegetable platter.

    Reply
  2. Love risotto!!

    I’m echoing Miss VeggieGirl but hummus and veggies is always a winner!

    Reply
  3. I always devaganize vegan recipes! It’s not on purpose … it just happens. đŸ˜€

    Finger food I love at parties is brucshetta.

    Reply
  4. This dish looks great – I will have to try it.

    Reply
  5. I would have added cheese too!
    http://www.seejessrun.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

