RSS Feed

Balance

An actual conversation I had with my husband, the day after I declared I needed to refocus and get “back on the healthy train:”

Me: Growl! Rrrgggg! I’m hungry, and I absolutely cannot cook. The kitchen is messy and I don’t want to spend an hour making curry!
Brent: Dude, what happened to the healthy train? It’s pulling out of the station. You’re 12 miles away and stuck in traffic. I don’t even think you have a ticket.
Me: Who cares. I hate the healthy train – too much of a hassle. Food now please. (I probably didn’t say please)
Brent: (Sigh, big eye roll) Whatevs.

Obviously, we went out to eat. For the past 2 weeks or so, I’ve been feeling extremely unbalanced. I was understandably stressed about my entrance exam, but things are only going to get more stressful over the next 2.5 years when I have to be in school full time with 12 hour clinicals, so I realize it would be best develop a more balanced way of dealing with it. I think part of the problem was that I’ve had very little actual stress in my life before this year, and so I’ve had time to workout as much as I want, cook dinner nearly every night, and make our lunches, bake bread, and keep our house (fairly) clean. Last week, I barely cooked, didn’t clean, and managed 1 run in like 14 days.

Clearly I need to find a happy medium — just plan to squeeze in like 30 minutes of activity 4 or 5 days a week or something. Maybe I’ll try Tina’s Yoga Challenge. 20 Minutes a day seems doable. Oh, and I’m thinking now would be a great time to reintroduce myself to my crock-pot, to reduce such drastic cases of hangriness, as explained above. Anyone have any good vegetarian crock-pot recipes, that aren’t soups? We already eat a lot of soup, and chili is fine, but it gets old. I feel like veggies kind of turn to mush in the pot though.

Anyone have exciting weekend plans? I think we’re kind of hanging low. I tried convincing Brent to go to Vegas for a 3 day weekend, but that plan didn’t really take off the way I had hoped.

7 responses »

  1. You should! It’s just 20 minutes a day, and I think if I can do it, anyone can!!! 🙂 I’m posting more info on my blog about it this afternoon.

    Reply
  2. I am totally with you on finding balance. I’m thinking about trying out Tina’s challenge too, though I really don’t think I can do it for a month. I’d be happy with 5 days a week or at least starting to do yoga (I’ve never really done it).

    Reply
  3. For a gift a few years ago I received FIX-IT and FORGET-IT LIGHTLY : Healthy, Low-Fat Recipes for Your Slow Cooker. It has a lot of neat vegetarian ideas, there was one meal that was a sloppy joe that used tempeh. While there are meat recipes in the book too, there are many meatless recipes.

    Reply
  4. Also you could try stuffed peppers or stuffed cabbage. My husband has made stuffed cabbage in the crockpot, I think he uses rice, bulgar, and morningstar crumbles and just makes it like he would make meat stuffed cabbage. You steam the cabbage first, so that they can roll.

    Reply
  5. Maybe you just need some quicker healthy meals, like stir fry or pasta.
    http://www.seejessrun.com

    Reply
  6. it’s SO hard to find balance when there’s literally not enough time in the day for all the things you need to do! it will take time, but i’m sure you’ll find a “good enough” way to get organized. you can do it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

