RSS Feed

Super Spinach Lasagna

Posted on

Making a dinner that would provide a ton of leftovers seemed like the perfect way to get a jump start on the week. I love pasta of all kinds, especially lasagna. Brent’s usually less enthused, but he’s always a good sport. Because I was planning on using the leftover lasagna as our lunches for the next few days, I wanted to make it pretty veggie heavy, and not just a big pile of cheese (not that there’s anything wrong with that, of course!)

hpim2934I have an intense dislike of boiling lasagna noodles. It just never seems to work out well for me, so I wanted the oven ready kind. Unfortunately I couldn’t find the no-boil type in whole wheat, but oh well. My inspiration for this dish was a bit Mediterranean, so it’s full of spinach and artichokes, and topped with a Mediterranean blend Feta. Yum!

SPINACH-ARTICHOKE LASAGNA

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 28oz crushed tomatoes
  • 1 cup vegetable broth
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 2 boxes frozen chopped spinach, thawed and squeezed
  • 12oz marinated artichoke hearts, chopped
  • ~3 cups mozzarella cheese
  • 4oz Feta ( I got the Athens Mediterranean kind)
  • 1 box, oven-ready lasagna noodles
  1. Heat oil over medium heat in a medium sized sauce pan.
  2. Add onion and garlic and saute until softened.
  3. Add in tomatoes, broth, and spices.
  4. Bring to a boil, then lower heat and simmer ~10-15 minutes.
  5. Add in spinach and artichokes and simmer another 5 minutes.
  6. Spread 1/2 cup of the sauce onto the bottom of a 9×13″ casserole dish.
  7. Layer lasagna noodles over the sauce.
  8. Sprinkle with a a third of the mozzarella.
  9. Repeat layers: Sauce, noodles, cheese until you run out of supplies.
  10. Top with the feta.
  11. Bake 40 minutes, covered, at 350.
  12. Uncover and bake another 15 minutes or so until browned.

Something to take note of: I don’t like things very saucy, that’s just not how I roll. If you love sauce, I’d recommend doubling the tomatoes, or maybe reserving some of the sauce before you add the spinach and artichokes, and serving that along side, so people can add their own. This was delicious! I loved the tang of the briny artichokes, and the feta on top. I’m so excited for leftovers!! Plus, there’s so much spinach — got to love that iron!

hpim2937I should cook more with artichokes. I think I enjoy them a lot more than I previously thought.

SPRING?

Brent and I saw our first robin of the season this morning. Maybe spring is just around the corner. Although the poor thing looked like he was seriously regretting his decision to fly back. It’s -5 out there with the windchill today!

7 responses »

  1. So many layers of goodness!! I need to cook more with artichokes as well.

    SUPER freezing here too – eek!! Stay warm!!

    Reply
  2. Oh my god, that lasagna sounds amazing!

    Reply
  3. It looks really delicious! I’ve never used the no boil lasagna noodles. I will keep a look out for the wheat version for ya.

    Reply
  4. lasagna with artichokes and feta … oh man, you’ve got me!!

    Reply
  5. What a great lasagna! When I was in Italy we were served a similar dish minus the tomatoes – one of the BEST meals of my life and yours is almost just like it đŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. Yum! I’ve made spinach and artichoke lasagna before. It was good, but yours is much prettier and I love the feta addition.
    http://www.seejessrun.com

    Reply
  7. Hi- I’m not sure if I’ve ever commented on your page before, but I wanted to let you know that I made this last night (even though I was missing the artichoke) and loved it, esp all the spinach! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

