RSS Feed

Happy Anniversary, Brent!

Posted on

n1915456_38392422_9154

Three years ago, Brent and I got married! After the first time I saw When Harry Met Sally, I knew that whenever I met my future husband, we would need a great story to tell people. Luckily I’m pretty fond of ours:

I’ve mentioned before I went to school at the University of Illinois. Well the summer after sophomore year, my friend Tessa and I went for a 10 day visit to my aunt’s place in Redondo Beach, California. Tess had never been, and was eager for some celebrity sightings, which were looking scarce. My aunt and uncle were continually mentioning that we ought to go to the Rocky Cola Cafe because apparently it was owned by some celebrity, although when asked “Which celebrity?” the only answer they gave was, “He was on some show a while ago. He rides a motorcycle. He’s usually at the restaurant.”

The decision gets made that Tess and I will head there for breakfast one morning. Well, as usual I was starving and eager to leave, but Tessa had stumbled across some sort of tribute to Steven Tyler on VH1 and felt compelled to complete it, thus delaying our departure by an hour. We finally arrive at the restaurant and of course, there is a wait, which perturbs me, but I’m now committed to this joint so we don’t leave. I spot a skinny nerdy looking dude wearing an ILLINOIS t-shirt and Tess tells me I should go tn1915456_38392400_3321alk to him to pass some time. I have very little social grace or tact so I plop down next to him on a bench and blurt out what I can only assume is the world’s most irresistible pick up line: “Hey, where’d you get that shirt?” Giving me a “I can’t believe you just said that” look, he points at the letters on his shirt and says, “Uh, Illinois.” Undeterred, I respond with, “Yeah, I know. I go there.”

After an awkward exchange, in which I ask if he is a freshman only to find out he is fact 4 years older than me and a second year grad student and in California on an internship, the host calls, “Brett, party of 1.” Brent stands, and says “That’s probably me.” The host asks, “Would your friends like to sit with you?” Brent, with a deer in the headlights look, just glances back at us and I jump up and say, “Sure!”

We had a delightful, if slightly uncomfortable brunch, where I may or may not have called him a corporate whore and otherwise made a general ass of myself. We get his number and tell him we’ll call him, since it is obvious he suffers from a lack of friends. We went to see a Harry Potter movie with him a few days later, and then several months later when we were all back to campus, he left a message on Tess’s cell phone, which was lost until 2 weeks later. We finally returned his call and the rest is history.n1915456_38392406_5558

Tessa (who wasย obviously my maid of honor – she’s the red head next to me) still occasionally claims her love of Aerosmith is what allowed me to find my future husband. That may be a bit over the top, but there certainly were a lot of coincidences involved. I never would have run into him on campus on a campus of 40,000 people, but I go across the country and end up eating breakfast with him. Weird.

I loved our wedding. It suit us perfectly – it was quick, inexpensive, and had good food. We got married in a gazebo on a cliff overlooking the ocean and then all headed to a seafood restaurant on the water.

n1915456_38392399_6006

Plans for celebration today include a sushi lunch date at our favorite Japanese place, and maybe some wine after class. Have a great day everyone! ๐Ÿ™‚

14 responses »

  1. WISHING YOU A VERY HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!! And a lifetime together for you two ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  2. I love a good “meeting” story…and When Harry Met Sally is one of my faves!! Congratulations!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  3. HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!! I loved reading about how you two met ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  4. aww happy anniversary! Ours is on the 14th- but we arent married so it isnt as exciting

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.everygymsnightmare.com

    Reply
  5. Happy Anniversary! Your wedding photos are so sweet!

    Reply
  6. That’s a cute story. I owe my boyfriend and my relationship to Match.com so I don’t have anything nearly as cute to tell. I love your wedding. It’s definitely the kind of ceremony I would love to have. Although, I dream of stacked wheels of cheese instead of a cake. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  7. I liked it, so I put a ring on it.

    Reply
  8. What a sweet story. I think it’s funny because from reading your blog I do not get the impression that you would approach him or anything. Go Victoria.

    Happy Anniversary to you & Brent.

    Reply
  9. Heather,
    Apparently you wouldn’t know it from reading my blog, but I am actually incredibly obnoxious, and embarrass Brent on a near-daily basis.

    Reply
  10. OMG happy anniversary and what a cute and amazing story!

    Reply
  11. I just read this today, and it really is a cute story!!

    Reply
  12. Pingback: Indian Night Courtesy of Trader Joe’s « The Idle Loaf

Leave a Reply

