RSS Feed

Carbaholic

Posted on

I’ve been feeling so lethargic lately, despite sleeping a decent amount. While I’m sure general stress is a contributing factor, I also feel like my diet is really playing a role. I don’t think I eat poorly per say, but lately it has definitely lacked balance. My work schedule, while not heavy, is awkward, and so I don’t really have an actual lunch. Thus, I often get too hungry and come home and eat a lot of PB&J. I just think I’ve been eating way too many (very delicious) carbs.

I thought I’d use the blog as a food diary for a bit, maybe a week or so, or maybe I’ll get tired of it and won’t even finish today’s. I really need to reduce the bread consumption, (it pains me to say that), and increase the veggies.

Here goes. Breakfast was oatmeal, which I know I’ve claimed not to like, but it’s cheap and warm, which is helpful, so I’ve kind of become an oatmeal convert. In this morning’s oatmeal was a chopped banana, the last of a carton of strawberries, and a small handful of blueberries. I topped the bowl with a sprinkling of walnuts.

hpim2949With the oatmeal was my daily caffeine fix, in the form of coffee with skim milk and a teaspoon of sugar.

The other day my mom called and said to me, “Guess what Vic? You’ll never believe it! I tried your oatmeal with bananas and flaxseed, and it was actually not bad!” (my mom is kind of the queen of backhanded compliments). Understandably this confused me a bit, because I certainly did not invent oatmeal, or even the idea of adding bananas to it, but then she went on to tell me that she got the recipe from the cookbook I made her (for her birthday in April 2008!) I’m glad she’s finally using it! So, I guess my mom is an oatmeal convert as well.

I’m off to work 10-3, with no actual lunch break, so I’m not sure what “lunch” will be.

4 responses »

  1. Looove carbs!!

    Hooray for Mom liking your fabulous oatmeal ideas!! πŸ™‚

    Good luck at work!!

    Reply
  2. Haha – “It was actually good” Your mom’s comment made me laugh! Your oats look nice and creamy πŸ™‚

    Have a great day!!

    Reply
  3. it’ll be fun seeing your daily eats for a while!

    Reply
  4. I think I eat mostly carbs. I wonder how I could stop. Would I want to though?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

