RSS Feed

Produce Replenished

Posted on

I got my shopping trip done, although my planning was a little sketchy, so I’m hoping I have enough meal ingredients.

hpim29823The List:

  • Sweet potatoes
  • Huge bag of spinach
  • Spanish onions
  • Red onion
  • Broccoli
  • Celery
  • Russet potato
  • Strawberries
  • Salad mix
  • Sun-dried tomatoes
  • Asparagus
  • Cremini mushrooms
  • Carrots
  • Avocado
  • Red bell pepper
  • Green bell pepper
  • Almonds
  • Salsa
  • Oats
  • Whole wheat spaghetti
  • Garbanzo Beans
  • Cheddar Puffs (from the clearance cart. I’m hoping they taste like Pirate’s Booty)
  • Milk (not pictured because I forgot it in the car for like 15 minutes)
  • Eggs
  • Cheddar
  • Parmesan
  • Smart Balance Butter Blend (nearly free with coupon)
  • Shrimp

Today’s total: $62.38. I have a few new things I’m making this week, so hopefully that’ll keep the blog kind of interesting. After I put all the groceries away, I took Lucy out for a walk (I can’t handle them both at the same time), and assuming the rain holds off, I’m about to take Larry. It’s 70 degrees outside! For a quick lunch, I made a smoothie using some banana, a tiny handful of frozen blueberries, 2 huge strawberries, and some milk.

hpim29892

A quick rant: As I mentioned, I was walking Lucy, and apparently the warm weather was appealing to a lot of people, understandable. Half my neighborhood was outside, and so were their dogs. I absolutely cannot stand people who let their dogs roam free. Lucy is a total sweetheart, but she’s very particular about what dogs she likes or not, and we had several incidents of dogs running up to us with their owners chasing after them, one of which was a dog Lucy did not like. Lucy was freaking out, I’m trying to remove us from the situation, and there’s like a 10 year old trying to capture this huge Golden Retriever. Disaster. If your dog is outside, I don’t care how well-trained you think it is, it should be in a fenced yard or on a leash.

4 responses »

  1. Thats a ton of produce!!! Looks amazing!

    Reply
  2. Holy yum groceries!!

    I’m with you on the dog situation – it also puts the dog’s life at risk if he runs into the street by mistake and a stupid car hits him.

    Reply
  3. Gorgeous grocery haul! I hate it when people let their dogs run free – we have one by our house and it does it’s business right outside where we park our cars (we have a gate). Basically every time you get in the car you have to do a little dance to avoid stepping in it!

    Reply
  4. oooh so many new grocery treats!!

    i agree about the dogs. some people get so lax with their dog management that they don’t even bat an eyelash when the unleashed pups start running all over. there is a time and place for unleashing the dogs — and around lots of other people/animals and near streets is just not it!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

