RSS Feed

Severe Weather

Posted on

This afternoon, as we were walking the dogs, we heard the thunder rolling in, so I suggested we turn around. Just as we reached our porch, the tornado siren started going off! Things were looking hairy for a while there, but everything has cleared for the most part and we have sun now, although the wind is howling again.

Before all that excitement, I was very productive in the kitchen. I made my stock, and then made two different soups to use it up! I also made some spinach pesto. I took a break for a snack of some coffee cake, strawberries and milk.

hpim3001These strawberries are really big, but not super sweet. Oh well. They were really on sale! When Brent got back from work, we split some Annie Whole Wheat Shells and White Cheddar, with some peas and tuna.

hpim3004

We made it to the gym, which is always packed on Sunday, and because all the treadmills were occupied, I did 30 minutes on the Stairmaster along with US Weekly. Wow! My poor legs. I was already feeling the burn from my yoga session earlier this morning. I did the 30 minutes Sun Salutations with Dave Farmar, which I loved, but man I worked up a sweat!

After we felt assured the tornado had passed, I made a quick dinner.

hpim3007I was feeling inspired by Heather’s recent dinner, and made a quick spinach pesto pasta with sun-dried tomatoes. The pesto is spinach, Parmesan, pine nuts, garlic, oil, salt and pepper. I just boiled some pasta and re-hydrated some sun-dried tomatoes and mixed it all together. I thought it was really good, and I have leftover pesto, so I’ll probably be making this for lunch sometime this week.

This is going to be a great week! (Check out that positivity!) It’s my “spring break,” although I still have assignments for my online class, and of course I still have work, but most importantly, I have no actual class, so we get to “sleep in” because I don’t have to pick Brent up from work early. And next weekend, my friends are coming into town for a night of drinking and dancing!

3 responses »

  1. Scary weather here too 😦 Stay safe!!

    Enjoy the upcoming week!!

    Reply
  2. Enjoy your spring break!! That coffee cake and strawberries = perfection 🙂

    Reply
  3. I love pesto – obviously!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

