RSS Feed

Granola Bread French Toast

Posted on

Man, I have been so impressed with breakfast ideas lately. Although, today’s idea was actually one I got from Kelly’s comment!

I threw caution to the wind and decided to make the granola bread! My first batch actually came out pretty ugly. A fine tasting ugly, but still pretty deformed. It was my own fault for trying to make a free form loaf. I couldn’t admit defeat, especially to Brent, who loves any opportunity to gloat, so I made another batch, with the same dough, but this time followed the instructions in the book and put the dough into a loaf pan.

hpim3025I love this bread! It’s sweet, not like rot your teeth sweet, but a subtle sweet. I get a lot of the honey flavor out of it, and it’s incredibly soft! Plus it’s nearly half whole wheat! Perfect! I thickly sliced it, and while I could have obviously downed the whole loaf then and there, I decided to make a glorious mid-week breakfast for Brent and I.

hpim3024
Holy Yum! This bread makes an Ahhh-mazing French toast! Brent enjoyed it too, which may or may not be actual fact, because he doesn’t like sweet breakfasts, but nice of him to say nonetheless.

My one gripe about the granola bread is that the ingredient list includes an egg, for an egg wash, but there is no mention of it in the directions. I know there are a few errors in the book, but this one wasn’t listed on their website, so I just left out the egg wash. The bread didn’t suffer for it.

6 responses »

  1. No, no, no, – that is holy FREAKING yum!!! Haha thanks for the shout-out 😉

    Reply
  2. Yay! You made the granola bread!! It looks fabulous 🙂

    Reply
  3. I’m flattered you took my suggestion. That bread looks absolutely luscious both in loaf form and in french toast form. I’m going to have to check out that book from the library to make the granola bread myself. Mmmm. I bet it smells amazing when baking.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Pages tagged "french bread"

  5. Pingback: Bake-a-long Granola Bread « The Idle Loaf

Leave a Reply

