RSS Feed

Baked Pasta with Winter Squash

Posted on

I had an absolutely lovely weekend. Really, it was just the perfect combination of lazy and active. I got some stuff done, but I didn’t feel rushed or anything, and the weather was gorgeous. Brent even got a tan on our run yesterday. We watched quite a bit of basketball. Even though the Illini are out, Purdue (Brent’s other Alma Mater) is still in there, which is semi exciting. The one thing I didn’t do this weekend was grocery shop. That’s just fine by me because I have something to look forward to after work today. Sad, on so many levels, I know, but this is how I get my kicks people.

Obviously our fridge is bare. We’re looking at condiments and a stick of Smart Balance here. Not to fret, my little health nuts, I still managed to make a balanced dinner, with a big onion as my only fresh produce. I made another recipe from Everyday Food: Great Fast Food. This time it was the Baked Shells with Winter Squash. I was able to follow this recipe almost entirely, but I did sub dried rosemary for fresh, and whole wheat rotini for the shells.

hpim3088It’s definitely a winner. I personally just love a baked pasta, and this one was a nice spin on one. I thought the amount of cheese was fairly tame, since the recipe easily makes 6 servings. Brent approved as well. I think I’ll keep this one in the rotation.

I’m hoping Monday flies by as quickly as possible!

6 responses »

  1. If it makes you feel better grocery shopping after work is one of the perks of my day as well..

    Reply
  2. Great weekend you had; and I love that pasta dish!!

    Reply
  3. I’m so glad you had a good weekend! HOORAY for getting tan 🙂
    I’m making that pasta dish, for sure, it looks awesome!

    Reply
  4. Mmmm baked pasta is the epitome of comfort food 🙂

    Reply
  5. What a great looking dinner. I seriously have almost no food left in the house, time to go shopping!

    Reply
  6. This is the second post I have seen for pasta baked with squash. I’m starting to wonder if this is a hint that I should make this before the weather turns too warm. It looks delicious and I love the substitution of whole wheat pasta. Now that I am used to it regular just tastes so bland.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

