RSS Feed

Oikos Review

Posted on

A few weeks ago, the nice people over at Stonyfield Farm asked if I would like some coupons to try their Oikos Greek yogurt. I happily agreed, because I love Greek yogurt, but often have a very difficult time justifying the price.

hpim3100Whenever the option is available and money allows, I like to try to buy organic for our animal products. I worry about it less so for our produce, but I’ve read animals, like humans store large amounts of chemicals and hormones in their bodies, which is of course, why people worry about mercury poisoning with larger fish. Anyway, it’s an argument that makes sense to me, but like I said, this is really only when money allows. That being said, the Greek yogurt is one area where I do not see a difference in price. Oikos costs the same amount in my local store as Chobani, and is slightly cheaper than Fage.

I already know I like Greek yogurt, and we all know it’s thick and creamy. I thought the Oikos was very creamy, although slightly less thick than Fage, but comparable to Chobani. I know there are a few more flavors, but my store only has vanilla and plain. I love the plain. I don’t really find it tart at all, but that’s probably just because my tastebuds have adapted. Because I’ve gotten so used to plain yogurt, I was a little hesitant to try the vanilla, but of course because it was free there was no reason not to. I actually really liked the vanilla as well. I don’t think I would make it my go-to flavor, but it would make a nice change every once in a while. I really wanted to try the honey flavor, but alas, couldn’t find it.

I got four free coupons (as well as a few coupons for other Stonyfield products, which I will try at some point), and I gave one to my friend Tessa, because she had never tried Greek yogurt. Unfortunately, she has not be able to find Oikos in any store near here. She lives in the burbs of Chicago, so if you’re around there and know where to get some, let me know.

6 responses »

  1. I’ve seen Oikos at the bigger Dominick’s stores, and super target!

    Reply
  2. One day I’ll remember to bring my coupons to the store! Thanks for the great review though!

    Reply
  3. Haha same post as me today. The honey flavor is great!
    http://www.seejessrun.com

    Reply
  4. Loved to hear your thoughts on Oikos! Great review 🙂

    Reply
  5. I love the plain Greek Yogurt as well. I’ve never had Fage though.

    Reply
  6. LOVE Oikos! good review, too!

    I just found your blog and wanted to say hi. I look forward to reading more!

    I just started one of my own, hope you check it out! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

