RSS Feed

Crab and Corn Chowder

Posted on

Brent and I totally winged it at the grocery store this past weekend. Crazy stuff, I know. Going in without a list is pretty dangerous for me. We had some general ideas of what we might want. Before we left, Brent mentioned seeing a recipe for corn and crab chowder. Of course, once we were at the store, I asked what was in it and he couldn’t remember. Knowing we had a bag of frozen corn, I just grabbed some crab meat and figured I could guess my way through it.

hpim3142Ehhh, this soup was fine. I liked it, but was slightly disappointed by how little the crab brought to the party. I think for chowders, I’ll stick to the corn chowder from the Mayo Clinic, which uses basically the same ingredients, but has a better outcome I think.

With the soup, I had a few slices of the Broa from Artisan Bread. Yum! I just love bread. It absolutely improves everything.

hpim3140I really appreciate everyone’s book recommendations. I feel like I should read a bit more for pleasure because I enjoy it, and it might be a slightly better pursuit than using most of my free time to aimlessly surf the internet. The week is nearly half over! And today is my day to go back to the NICU!! Happy hump day!

7 responses »

  1. Good cooking on the chowder – it looks really good!

    Reply
  2. Soup and bread – can’t go wrong with that!

    Reply
  3. I got the Artisan Bread book for my birthday and finally got it in the mail yesterday. I can’t wait to try it and have nice bread like you. Do you have one favorite recipe?
    http://www.seejessrun.com

    Reply
  4. Jess,

    The only one that hasn’t been great was the 100% whole wheat. My personal favorite thus far is probably the deli-style rye. I think you’ll love the book!

    Reply
  5. Yay broa! Yay Mayo Clinic corn chowder! (That’s been my favorite recipe out of that cookbook, I think!)

    Reply
  6. I’m impressed by how much bread you bake! I wish I baked that often. I make bread every once and awhile but not enough to really hone the craft and get good. However I keep thinking about the granola bread and may have to whip some up the next time I make a batch of granola.

    I’m sorry to hear about the soup. I fully know what you mean. Whenever I use premium/pricy ingredients they need to add a lot in order to make it worth it.

    Reply
  7. Kelly,
    I definitely think you should make the granola bread! I loved it! I might make more of it, if Brent would stop eating my granola by the handful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

