RSS Feed

Almost Friday

Posted on

Happy Thursday everyone! The week’s coming to a close, which I’m excited about because I’ve got a hot date tomorrow night. Brent asked me if I wanted to go out for dinner, which I nearly thought was an April Fool’s joke! He never really suggests stuff, especially stuff that costs money. šŸ™‚Ā  We’re going to try a new (new to us, anyway) Italian place downtown. I’m a sucker for locally owned mom & pop joints. This place is so “local” it’s actually in a tiny little house! I can’t wait to tell you all about it!

Before I get too excited about tomorrow’s dinner, I should get you up to date on our less interesting dinners here at home. We seemed to end up with quite a bit of canned seafood at the store, so in addition to the crab, we also had some wild salmon. I made some wasabi salmon patties and served them on top of a mixed greens salad. The salad was dressing with a vinaigrette made with canola oil, rice vinegar, soy sauce, wasabi paste, spicy mustard, honey and sriracha. We basically threw condiments in a bowl and whisked until it tasted good.

hpim3144I loved the combo of the salmon patties and salad. I think it’s a dish we’ll be repeating.

Last night’s dinner was super quick because I was on my way to the NICU! (Cute baby overload.) Umm, I don’t know what happened to this picture. I thought it turned out normal, but I guess I was too hungry and hurried to double check! We had mushroom, onion and goat cheese sandwiches on the broa. I caramelized the onions by sauteing in canola oil, then added sliced porteenie mushrooms, a splash of balsamic vinegar, salt, pepper, and some chopped fresh basil. I spread some goat cheese on both sides of the bread and loaded in the mushroom mixture.

hpim3147Like I said, odd picture, huh? But the sandwich was very tasty! That purple thing in the corner is roasted purple cauliflower. I’ve recently gotten a little obsessed with the colored cauliflowers.

Today’s plans include work, a run (hopefully outside – it’s supposed to be 60!), some work on a micro exam, physio class, and some Thursday night television. šŸ™‚ What are you looking forward to?

P.S. — check out the awesome Giveaway at Graduate Meghann!

7 responses »

  1. Gorgeous meals!!

    Ooooh enjoy your hot date tomorrow šŸ˜‰

    Reply
  2. Wow, dinner looks tasty! And I have your double entry marked!

    Reply
  3. Oh my gosh, totally drooling right now!

    Reply
  4. That cake looks spectacular.

    Reply
  5. thanks for stopping by my blog! your food looks great! šŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. Great eats! Everything seriously looks great!
    Can’t wait to read about your hot date!

    Reply
  7. I do not think your at home dinners are boring at all.
    http://www.seejessrun.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

