RSS Feed

Garden Harvest Muffins

Posted on

Ugh. I cannot believe this weather. It’s times like this when I have to agree with Brent. Why on earth did I leave southern California?? It is April! Blah.

On to the food. My friend at work is a sweetheart, who often brings me delicious Indian food for lunch. So when she asked if I could make her some bread she found in Cooking Light, I of course agreed.

I made the recipe as written for her. Unfortunately, it did not come out well. I cooked it for 60 minutes and it looked and felt done, but after cooling in the loaf pan for 15 minutes, I went to take it out of the pan, and it completely fell apart. Luckily, while the loaf was baking, I was modifying the recipe to make some muffins for myself, and the muffins turned out fantastic! I’ll be bringing her some of these instead.

hpim3168These muffins turned out spicy and moist and delicious. I made them with some whole wheat flour, less sugar, and I wish I had soy milk to make them vegan, which would have been easy to do. I also added raisins and a few more nuts. Yum! I’ve included my modified recipe below. Enjoy!

Garden Harvest Muffins

(modified from Cooking Light)

  • 2.5oz (.5 cup + 1 tablespoon) whole wheat flour
  • 2.25oz (.5 cup) all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 cup grated apple (I didn’t bother peeling it)
  • 1/2 cup grated carrot
  • 1/2 cup grated zucchini
  • 1/3 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/3 cup raisins
  • 1/4 skim milk
  • 1/4 canola oil
  • egg replacer for 2 eggs (I used Ener-G, but next time I’ll try the flax eggs)
  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Mix together flours, sugar, spices, salt, and baking soda in a large bowl.
  3. Add the apple, zucchini, carrots, nuts, and raisins to the flour mixture.
  4. In a small bowl, whisk together milk, oil and egg replacer.
  5. Add liquid ingredients to dry ingredients and mix until just combined.
  6. Divide batter into greased muffin tins (I got 10) and bake ~20 minutes.

These were so good and really quick! I love the spiciness in them fromt the additional cloves and nutmeg. I think they’ll become a staple.

Update — Happy Birthday VeggieGirl!!

6 responses »

  1. HATE the weather too šŸ˜¦ But I LOVE those muffins!!

    Reply
  2. Hang in there with the weather! Sunny skies will be here soon!

    Reply
  3. Boo to the weather šŸ˜¦

    YUM to the muffins!!

    Reply
  4. I hate when recipes don’t come out. That’s happened to me twice lately although it was all my fault (not having the proper pan size to make the recipe). Those muffins look quite yummy though.

    Reply
  5. Those muffins look delicious!

    Reply
  6. Too bad about the bread, but the muffin version look pretty awesome! Lucky friend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

