RSS Feed

Creamy Potato and Cabbage Soup

Posted on

I made a huge batch of soup on Sunday. It actually made way more soup than I was expecting. This soup is as “recession food” as it gets. I think the ingredients cost $3, if that, and it made 16+ cups of soup. Half of that is for our lunches for the week, and the other half went to the freezer.
hpim3173

Unfortunately, I couldn’t find the recipe online. It is from the Moosewood Restaurant Daily Special cookbook, which is one of my favorites. It’s basically onions, cabbage, potatoes, salt, dill, neufchatel (reduced fat cream cheese) and water. Cook and puree. That’s really it. The soup turns out very creamy and pretty delicious, although I wish it didn’t smell so strongly of cooked cabbage. I guess that’s unavoidable, considering that’s what it is.

In other news… I finally made good tofu! Brent is the tofu king in our house. I like tofu, but I’ve never been able to cook it as well as he does. I like the outside nice and crispy, and I tried again last night, this time with success. I just pan fried in in a thin layer of canola oil, making sure to just toss it in and leave it until it was nice and browned, and then flip.

hpim3177The glorious tofu went into some tofu lo mein, which was just tofu, whole wheat spaghetti, red bell pepper, carrots, and scallions tossed with a sauce of mirin, soy sauce, a bit of hoisin sauce, and sriracha. I seriously hoovered this bowl in like 4 minutes because I was running late to class.

Yesterday was perfect, because it was the first time n a long time that I got everything on my to do list crossed off. I hope I can do that again today. I’m trying to get all my school work, cleaning, and other stuff done in the next few days because my mom and sister are coming Friday afternoon for a girls’ weekend. Brent is going to Indy to visit some friends, and my dad was going to Springfield to visit his friends, so it seemed like a perfect weekend for us girls to do something together. Should be fun. 🙂

9 responses »

  1. Love the Moosewood cookbook!!

    Definitely sounds like you have a great weekend planned!!

    Reply
  2. Oh wow, that tofu and noodle mix loosks great!

    Reply
  3. I love a good batch of soup. I agree with you that it’s the perfect recession food, and pretty comforting too.

    Congrats on finally making good tofu!!! There was awhile where I couldn’t get it just right but now that I have mastered it I am addicted to making recipes with tofu at home.

    Reply
  4. Both of those dishes sound incredible!! Sounds like you’ve got a great weekend ahead of you 🙂

    Reply
  5. these look like magazine pics!

    Reply
  6. Your tofu looks perfect. I have to bake tofu to get it the way I like it, and that takes longer.
    http://www.seejessrun.com

    Reply
  7. I love creamy potato soup! I usually make it with leeks! Cabbage…what a great idea!

    Reply
  8. Pingback: Belated Meatless Monday: Cashew Banana-Crusted Tofu Nuggets with Apricot Dipping Sauce

Leave a Reply

