RSS Feed

Burrito Sandwich

Posted on

Sometime last week Brent sent me an email that said

these interest me: http://www.delish.com/recipefinder/tijuana-torta-recipe-9868

Normally it’s like pulling teeth to get Brent to help plan the menu, so I’m not one to complain when he offers up an idea unprompted. hpim3183 I didn’t follow the recipe exactly, but I got the basic gist of it. Let’s talk about the construction. The bread is just a simple skinny baguette made with the light whole wheat dough from Artisan Bread. Next, I mashed some cooked black beans with some tomato paste, cumin, coriander, salt and cilantro. This made a bean paste of sorts, but there was still plenty of texture. Each sandwich got about ~1/3 cup of the bean mixture. On top of that I layered some Monterey Pepper Jack cheese and put the bread/bean/cheese stack in the oven to melt everything together for about 5 minutes. Once it was warmed and melty, I just layered some sliced avocado, sprinkled with lime juice, sliced tomato, red onion, and some green cabbage.

I loved this sandwich. The crusty bread, and all the flavors and textures. So so good. Of course, I love avocado on everything and this was no exception. Brent and I both agreed, however, that in this case, because there were so many flavors and textures, the cheese was really unnecessary. Normally I think cheese improves everything, but this really didn’t need it. I don’t even think I could taste it. On the side we had some sweet potato fries with Country Bob’s sauce. A totally perfect mid-week dinner.

8 responses »

  1. That sounds great! Guys never like to help plan menus I’ve noticed!

    Reply
  2. Oh wow, that looks delicious, and yes to the bread!

    Reply
  3. Sounds like a wonderful sandwich! Thanks for the idea. I have a ripe avocado on my counter just calling to me!

    Reply
  4. Yum! Looks great!

    Reply
  5. yum crusty bread. looks great.

    Reply
  6. Yeah that looks amazing. Restaurant quality for sure!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

