RSS Feed

Memories

Posted on

Last night was a good time that involved a lot of laughing, and staying up way too late. When Mom and Sarah arrived we all headed to Wal-Mart, where Mom proceeded to freak out in the cereal aisle. She began yelling, “Oh my god! Do you know how much I pay for this Kashi cereal back home? Like $5! It’s less than $3 here!” while shoving box after box of the cereal into my overloaded arms. Once we satisfied Mom’s cereal fix (although she’s talking about going back for more), we grabbed some ingredients for dinner and some movies from the Redbox and headed home.

Once home, I spread out some half whole wheat Artisan Bread dough, and we each made individual pizzas. Actually, I made all of the pizzas while they sat on the couch and told me what ingredients they wanted. Mom had an Italian sausage pizza, Sarah had extra cheese, and I had one with spinach pesto, artichokes, mozzarella and goat cheese. Yum!

hpim3186In between the movies, Mom and Sarah brought in several huge boxes from their car, filled with 25 years worth of pictures. We  spent a few hours going through all of them, with lots of shouting interspersed throughout.

“Oh my god! Remember Dad’s ugly white sweat pants?!”

hpim3188

“Why is Matthew wearing a hot pink backpack? The 90s were gross!” “Oh my god. Vicki and I actually look a lot alike!” (I’m the big picture on the left; Sarah is the one on the right)

hpim3190

“Wow Mom. Look at your legs! You were quite the hottie back in the day!”

hpim3191

All in all, Brent’s probably glad he missed this little trip down memory lane, but we had a lot of fun!

Now we’re baking some banana bread, and then on to some chocolate chip cookies. We might go to a hockey game later, but Mom doesn’t know if she’ll “feel like going.” Hope your weekend is going well!

7 responses »

  1. Oh my gosh, what a blast!
    Totally love it, and I love your mom. Hahaha, GO KASHI CEREAL!!!

    Reply
  2. Aw trip down memory lane! Looking at old pictures is always fun!! Have fun baking 🙂

    Reply
  3. What a great time you are having. Say hi from me.

    Reply
  4. I always said you and your sister were way more alike than you would ever care to admit. Looks like fun!

    Reply
  5. twoskinnyjenkins

    Let’s talk about dough. it seems to me like we have pretty similar taste in pizza! have you seen the recipe on 101cookbooks? i tried it last night and it was easier than i expected and really good. your blog looks great. i am looking forward to trying your walnut date loaf recipe!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

