RSS Feed

Peanut Butter Granola

Posted on

For the past month or two, I’ve really been on a granola making kick, making it once a week and eating it every morning with yogurt and fruit. It’s just so easy! However, I’ve been pretty boring with it: honey, canola oil, brown sugar, oats, nuts, raisins, and if I’m feeling crazy maybe some coconut. This week I decided to change it up a bit. (Although I don’t know why I bother, Brent didn’t even notice!)

This afternoon, I made peanut butter granola — and I loved it! The peanut butter flavor isn’t overwhelming, and it’s actually more like an undertone. I enjoyed that this was less sweet than my usually granola, and a bit salty, because I use Smucker’s Natural PB, which has a bit of salt in it. It also has big peanut buttery clusters!

hpim3218I’ve noticed granola recipes are either a higher temp and shorter cooking time, or lower and slower. I use the lower and slower method, but you could probably just use the same ingredients and cook it according to your normal method. This makes a ton, like 8 cups or so. Feel free to halve it.

PEANUT BUTTER GRANOLA

  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 6-8 tablespoons peanut butter (I used 6, but they were not exactly perfectly measured)
  • 5 cups oats
  • 2 cups nuts (I prefer walnuts, but I also threw in some almonds)
  • 1.5 cups raisins
  1. Heat oven to 275.
  2. Mix together oil, honey, PB, and brown sugar in a small saucepan over medium-low heat.
  3. Stir until all ingredients are thoroughly combined and sugar is dissolved.
  4. Set aside and let cool 10 minutes or so.
  5. In a BIG mixing bowl, toss together oats and nuts.
  6. Pour PB mixture over oat mix and stir until pretty well coated.
  7. Spread out oat mix on a large jelly roll pan.
  8. Bake approximately 60-75 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes.
  9. Let cool and toss with raisins.
  10. Enjoy!
9 responses »

  1. Oh my gosh, that granola looks so good!!

    Reply
  2. YUM!!! I’m definitely going to try this soon 🙂

    Reply
  3. oh that photo of granola looks good!

    Reply
  4. HOLY YUM PB GOODNESS!!

    Reply
  5. I love homemade granola and the idea of adding PB is great!

    Reply
  6. That looks so delicious!
    i definitely have to try making my own granola!

    Reply
  7. This looks great! I want to make it soon!

    Reply
  8. thanks for sharing your recipe! this looks amazing!

    Reply
  9. Pingback: Year End Review « The Idle Loaf

Leave a Reply

