RSS Feed

Shrimp & Avocado Tacos

Posted on

Like I said, I was all psyched up for summer weather when I was planning this week’s menu, so I’ve included some of my favorite warm weather foods this week, like the pasta salad and these tacos.

hpim32251

I made these tacos some time last summer and they’ve been a staple ever since. My love of avocado is pretty well documented, so obviously I think these are delicious. I personally prefer a crunchy shell over the tortilla, because I like the contrast of the crunch against the smooth avocado. This meal is super quick to prepare and took me only 15 minutes.

It’s supposed to be another rainy, dreary day, but rather than working today, I get to go to an “Administrative Professionals Luncheon” instead. Unfortunately it’s at a fancy steak house, so I’m hoping there’s something for me to eat there.

HAPPY EARTH DAY!

Brent and I try to live fairly eco-friendly. We rarely eat meat. We have energy star appliances. I take reusable canvas bags to the grocery store, and we only buy necessary paper products, like toilet paper, and we normally get the recycled kind. I’m sure there’s more we could be doing though. What are your favorite green habits?

10 responses »

  1. AVOCADO!!!

    Green habits = recycling; always turning off the lights when I leave a room.

    Reply
  2. WOW those look amazing!!! I do the same as VG, always turning lights off!

    Reply
  3. you could totally open up your own stand with those tacos! πŸ™‚

    and i do the same: recycle, turn lights off, unplug electronics when they’re not in use.

    Reply
  4. I recycle, turn off electronics, use refillable water bottles. The one thing I can never remember is to bring my reusable bags with me to the store – 95% of the time I leave them at home!

    Reply
  5. Those look amazing. Anything with shrimp is pretty high on my list. I have another bag of langoustines from TJ’s so perhaps I will have to make a variation of these tacos with langostines instead.

    Reply
  6. As far as my favorite “green” habit goes, I would say buying local food. Not only does it save on gasoline from transport it helps support local small farmers AND means fresher food. Yum!

    Reply
  7. Whoa, if I had shrimp in my freezer I might have made those tonight.
    http://www.seejessrun.com

    Reply
  8. Oh my gosh, that looks delicious!!!

    Reply
  9. Reusable water bottles!

    So, I don’t even like shrimp and I want these!!!! The avacado looks delicious. πŸ˜€

    Reply
  10. Pingback: Repeat Performance « The Idle Loaf

Leave a Reply

