RSS Feed

Mini Peanut Butter Frosted Cupcakes

Posted on

I’ve created something very dangerous….

hpim3249But let me back up. I’ve been inspired by those in the salad challenge to add more veggies on a daily basis, so for lunch I had a big salad with a glob of guacamole on it instead of dressing. Incidentally, my avocado obsession has been taken to a whole new level recently. Brent’s growing concerned.

hpim3245Dinner was one of my favorite combinations: a black bean burger with sweet potato fries. The burgers are just cooked mashed black beans, and egg white and some ground oats, along with salt, pepper, cumin, coriander and cayenne. It was while I was layering the copious amounts of guac onto the burger that Brent realized the extent of my problem. He claimed there was more avocado than burger, which is wrong, but even if it weren’t I’d be ok with it.

hpim3259The bun is 100% whole wheat, made with the Artisan Bread master boule method. I used all whole wheat flour, but subbed about 1/2 cup of wheat gluten for the flour. It came out well I think.

But now back to the star of the evening. This afternoon was dreary and cold and kind of miserable, so I thought a fun baking project would brighten my day. It did indeed.

hpim3251

I made some dark chocolate mini cupcakes, using the recipe from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World, but I subbed dark chocolate cocoa. For the frosting I made a Peanut Butter Buttercream Frosting, which was super simple.

  • 1/2 cup Earth Balance
  • 1/2 cup natural peanut butter
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • ~2-3 tablespoons (soy)milk

Beat it all together until fluffy. This made exactly enough to frost 72 mini cupcakes. I had a lot of fun piping it onto the cupcakes. I realized today that although the tiny cupcakes are adorable, it’s very dangerous when you can eat each one in a single bite! I had way too many. πŸ™‚ I took some to my class tonight and I’m bringing the rest with me to work tomorrow.

Have a great night!

13 responses »

  1. Those cupcakes look so good, and that burger looks amazing!

    Reply
  2. Sweet potato fries definitely make up some of my most favorite meals!!

    And wow, those baby cupcakes are adorable, and what’s not amazing with peanut butter!!?!

    Reply
  3. 72 mini cupcakes – holy delicious!!!! The burgers also look great. πŸ˜€

    Reply
  4. wow, i don’t know what i’m more in love with- that burger or all those cupcakes! amazing eats!

    Reply
  5. I never really liked peanut butter desserts, but I’m slowly coming around, especially when it’s paired with rich chocolate like your cupcakes. Yummm. Everything you posted today looks awesome!

    Reply
  6. ooh pb + chocolate = lethal combination πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  7. Next time you have that for dinner, I’m coming over alright?! Everything sounds fantastic!!

    Reply
  8. FYI. Avocados are on sale at Meijer this week πŸ™‚

    Reply
  9. Great images! I think veggie patties you’ve shaped yourself always taste better. I was thinking about vegan cupcakes and you may have pushed me over the edge!

    Reply
  10. veeeeeeeeeeeeeeery dangerous cupcakes. i could probably down half of them if they were sitting in front of me right now! hmm, now i need to make pb buttercream frosting right away ….

    Reply
  11. Those cupcakes look great!
    So does your burger, I’ve yet to make my own black bean burger but after seeing yours I want to!

    Reply
  12. Those look super dangerous!

    Guacamole is way better than salad dressing.
    http://www.seejessrun.com

    Reply
  13. Pingback: Thickburger « The Idle Loaf

Leave a Reply

