RSS Feed

Early Cinco de Mayo

Posted on

Friday night we had some friends over for dinner and because I was in the mood for Mexican (and guacamole, obviously), I decided to make it an early Cinco de Mayo celebration. I made quite a bit of guac, which was all demolished, and for the main course I made some Green Chile-Chicken Enchiladas. I made two enchiladas with some shrimp for myself. This is a recipe I’ve made a few times before, probably well over a year ago and Brent really enjoys it. He had one of my enchiladas and informed me the recipe is way better with the chicken. To go with the enchiladas, I made some Mexican Rice, which I really enjoyed. There was also a big pitcher of fresh margaritas… I may have drank half of it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Almost none of the above matters though, because dessert was the most amazing thing ever: Mucho Margarita Cupcakes from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World (Page 133).

hpim3266

I did not have decorator’s sugar for the “salt rim” so instead I turned the margarita glaze icing into a tequila lime “buttercream.” For the frosting, I beat together:

  • 1 tablespoon tequila
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice
  • 1/2 tablespoon lime zest
  • 1 drop green food coloring
  • 1/4 cup margarine
  • 2 cups confectioner’s sugar
  • a pinch of kosher salt

A-maze-ing! Everyone seemed to really enjoy them. ๐Ÿ™‚ I made minis again, because I think they’re much cuter. The recipe made 40 mini cupcakes. Too cute… and way too addictive! My co-worker tested them out for me Friday morning and was begging for more! The frosting was truly awe inspiring. This was definitely the best dessert I’ve made in recent memory. I think every one had a good time, and it was nice to hang out with people our own age. (We clearly need more friends in the Fort).

The rest of this weekend has been fairly low-key. We spent a lot of this weekend outside doing yardwork, running, and walking the dogs. The rest has been spent studying for my Microbiology final tomorrow. Can’t wait to be done with that class! I also managed to get Brent to go wander around the co-op with me and I found some new stuff to try. Reviews will come later I’m sure. I hope all of you had a great weekend too!

11 responses »

  1. Ok, so when you come here, you must make these and share ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  2. i saw that cookbook in the store and thought of how cute the title was! glad to know that the cupcakes turn out well ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  3. Oh my gosh, those look soooo yummy!

    Reply
  4. Oooh. I completely forgot that Cinqo de Mayo was so close. It’s making me think I may need to whip out some of my mexican recipes.

    Reply
  5. Those definitely look awesome!!!! I love the mint green frosting!

    Reply
  6. Oh I like the new layout!! Mini cupcakes are so much more fun – I think it’s because they’re cuter ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  7. I love enchiladas AND cupcakes. Yum! New layout looks nice.

    Reply
  8. Pingback: Year End Review « The Idle Loaf

  9. Pingback: Dinner, Dessert, Drinks & Dancing « The Idle Loaf

Leave a Reply

