RSS Feed

Springy

Posted on

I hate winter. Most of it anyway. The first month is usually bearable. While it may be true that “it’s all my fault” that we live in Indiana, and I forced Brent to leave perfect, perpetually 72 degree weather in Los Angeles, I think the first month of spring after a particularly brutal winter usually makes up for it. There is no way I appreciated the sun living in LA as much as I have the past two weeks in Indiana.

In my pursuit of sunny, springy weather, I spent as much time as possible outside this weekend. That included making and eating Sunday’s dinner on the front porch. Brent’s not a huge fan of grilling (he claims it’s too much work for dinner for two) and he dislikes eating outside, but I disagree on both accounts and I got my way yesterday. Like Mara, I appreciate that grilled food is super simple to prepare.

hpim3274

Last night’s dinner was a combo of sweet potatoes, squash and salmon for me (steak for Brent). The sweet potatoes were rubbed with a mix of canola oil, cumin, coriander, paprika, cayenne, and salt. The squash got pretty much the same treatment. My salmon was marinated in a combination of sesame oil, hoisin sauce, soy sauce and sriracha for about 30 minutes. Seafood is so tricky on the grill. I need to get one of those grill baskets or whatever they’re called. It only stuck a little bit this time though. It made for a delicious and colorful al fresco dinner.

hpim3275Off to deal with a Micro final, study for my Physio final tomorrow and write a final paper for Wednesday. I’m almost done with the semester! 🙂 I’m starting to really look forward to the summer!

11 responses »

  1. I feel so special! You linked to me! Thanks 🙂 and your salmon?? looks amazing!!!

    Reply
  2. That dinner looks perfect! I’m with you – even if grilling is a lot of work, the deliciousness more than makes up for it.

    Reply
  3. Grille veggies are always winners!! Those look delicious! Good luck with your finals 🙂

    Reply
  4. I like the tufts of grass up at the top. nice touch.

    Reply
  5. I could eat grilled food all summer long. So sad that I don’t have a girll.

    Reply
  6. Good luck this week on all of your finals. If you like How I met your mother I have all the seasons up to this season. You can borrow them if you like. The grilling looks great.

    Reply
  7. Hope all goes well with your finals! And mmm grilled food yum!

    Reply
  8. i love the grill marks on those veggies!

    Reply
  9. I just noticed you changed the layout. A new look is always nice. 🙂 I love the smell of grilling the spring. It was pungent in the air yesterday when I took the dog out for a walk and it made me wish I had a grill of my very own. I love to do turkey burgers stuffed with cheese in the middle. Mmmm.

    Reply
  10. I wish I had some sun to be thankful for but it’s been rainy for almost a week now!
    Your bbq looks delicious!

    Reply
  11. I adore grilled food, but never do it myself.
    http://www.seejessrun.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

