RSS Feed

I can’t give up the guac

Posted on

I finished my final reflection paper for my last class this afternoon and submitted it. I’m completely done with the semester! 🙂 I’m taking one class over the summer, an online dosage calculations class, but I’m not expecting it to be terribly time-consuming. I feel so much calmer now that I know I can de-stress for a little while.

While at the gym on the stairmaster this evening, I was reading the new issue of Cooking Light (I cancelled my subscription last year and I miss it), and one of the main sections was about healthy fats – including, of course, avocado! There were lots of delicious sounding recipes, including one for strawberry avocado salsa that I want to try. It made me want some ‘cado immediately, so we stopped at the store to pick one up on the way home. I made use of it in the world’s quickest dinner: quesadillas with guacamole.

hpim3285The quesadilla filling is just a mix of sauteed onion, red bell pepper and cheddar cheese. I heated them very quickly on high heat on my cast iron griddle and they came out perfectly crispy. Yum! My new favorite way to enjoy guacamole has been to dip carrots in it. I had a bit left after this meal, so I also grabbed a handful of raw broccoli to use as dippers as well. Perfectly tasty and super quick.

After dinner, to celebrate my finishing the semester, I wanted to get a new cookbook. We ended up going to the library and I picked up Vegan Soul Kitchen.

hpim32871

I was inspired this afternoon reading about the Jamaican Veggie Patties on Heidi’s site. I plan on making them this weekend! Back to Lost!

6 responses »

  1. WAHOO!!!! End of the semester is the BEST!

    Reply
  2. Maybe it’s time to schedule an intervention

    Reply
  3. Remember that avacado is a healthy fat but it still is high in calories. 45 calories for a small sliver.
    So to help your addiction think about the calories if you eat a large amt of guacamole.

    Reply
  4. wow! how do you like that cookbook?

    Reply
  5. congrats on being done the semester! I love quesadilas they are so quick and easy, yet so good!

    Reply
  6. Congrats on making in through! Must be a huge weight off your shoulders!! Those patties sound delicious 🙂

    Hope you enjoyed LOST last night!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

