RSS Feed

Quick and Easy

Posted on

This week has turned into a busy one. A co-worker of mine had an emergency appendectomy so I have been covering for her at work from 9-5 each day through the end of the week. My meals have been pretty boring, mostly just repeats, like some stuffed shells from the freezer and some channa masala, this time with added spinach and half whole wheat naan.

HPIM3384I did try out some new items last night, which were convenient and saved me from pizza or fast food. Brent and I bought some salmon burgers to have on hand and we tried them last night on some whole wheat sandwich thins. I know everyone likes these sandwich thins, but I was pretty underwhelmed. I bought them because I needed something for the burgers and I was (gasp!) out of artisan bread dough. Convenient but bland.

HPIM3390The burgers were pretty ok. Again, nothing special but very convenient. I chopped some fresh dill and mixed with mayonnaise to top the burgers with and chopped a salad to go along side.  The whole meal took 8 minutes to make and when school and clinicals start up in the fall I’m sure most of my meals will be similar to this.

It’s almost the weekend. Brent and I are going to Cedar Point with some friends this weekend and I’m really excited! I haven’t been to an amusement park in a long time, and of course, I always love seeing my friends. Are you doing anything fun for your three day weekend?

7 responses »

  1. For the three day weekend it’s going to be all about relaxation! My building’s pool opens this weekend so there will be a lot of laying out and reading, provided the weather cooperates. I’m also planning on making a trek to a local farm that offers raw milk to buy some and have a “raw milk orientation” so I can use it for cheesemaking and other adventures.

    Reply
  2. Hi Victoria! Just found your blog! I love baking bread too, and your french bread recipe from before looks delicious. This is kind of a random question, but did it come out crispy on the outside? I’ve heard that in regular ovens it’s hard to get it to come out with a crispy outside and soft inside because you need a special vapor function in the oven. Any ideas about that?

    Reply
    • Hi! I have been able to get my bread crispy by brushing it with water and then throwing a cup of water onto the bottom of the oven right as I put the bread in. I also use a baking stone, which helps. One problem I initially had was that my bread would be crispy at first but then soften. It took me a while to realize this happens as a result of not cooking the bread quite long enough. Experimentation is really the only thing that helped me with that, but I think a regular oven is capable of producing a crisp crust.

      Reply
  3. Thanks! I can’t wait to try it!

    Reply
  4. Have a blast at Cedar Point! I’ve only been there twice because I can’t stand roller coasters! I’m always afraid I’ll get stuck at the top 😦

    Reply
  5. have a GREAT time at Cedar Point!

    Reply
  6. Have a great time at Cedar Point. We are leaving tommorrow for Hilton Head in the evening after Les gets off from work. We will be celebrating my birthday (which was today and our 30th anniversary)
    We will be back on the 7th of June. I will probably call you while I am laying by the ocean.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

