RSS Feed

Pizza and Bowling

Posted on

Did you have a good weekend? Mine was a really nice mix of socializing and vegging out. It included some homemade pizza.

HPIM3445This was my favorite flavor combination thus far. It had a simple tomato sauce made with slightly pureed canned tomatoes, salt, red pepper flakes and oregano. My toppings were kalamata olives and roasted red peppers. The crust was whole wheat artisan dough. YUM!

A few of you asked how I make my whole wheat version of the artisan dough. I have two versions. The one I used for this pizza and that I use for Brent’s sandwich loaves is:

  • 5.5 cups of whole wheat flour
  • .5 cups vital wheat gluten
  • 3 cups water
  • 1.5 T yeast
  • 1.5 T kosher salt

The reduction of flour helps because whole wheat flour absorbs more water and the wheat gluten really helps with the texture. This version is still much more dense than the all white flour version and it doesn’t produce the great holes and super crustiness of the original, but I’ve found it perfect of flatbread type dough and a regular ol’ sandwich loaf.

The other version I use is simply to sub 2 cups whole wheat flour for AP in the master recipe. This is the maximum amount I’ve found I can sub to produce pretty much the same results as the original recipe. Hope that was helpful!

BOWLING

Saturday night we celebrated our friend Jonathan’s 30th birthday with a night of bowling. We had a lot of fun, and we appreciate Ashley and Jonathan inviting us!

HPIM3450

Me waving my hands in disgust after bowling a "4."

Brent's unique and awesome bowling posture. He would like you to know he beat me 3 games in a row.

Brent's unique and awesome bowling posture. He would like you to know he beat me 3 games in a row.

Sweaty, Sweaty. (Stolen from Ashley's facebook)

About as cute as we get. (Stolen from Ashley's facebook)

I’M COOL!

You may remember this post where I talk about how to be cool according to my little sister. Well I got a “cool” new phone yesterday!

Isn't Lucy cute?

Isn't Lucy cute?

I let my family know about my exciting new toy and Sarah sent me a text that said:

Awesome! Finally dont have an ugly flip phone anymore, your cool now 🙂

And my Dad’s response was:

If Sarah says your cool, then you have arrived!

Thank goodness I have my family to let me know whether or not I’m cool! Now I’m off to watch the Bonnie Hunt Show and the Price is Right. 😉

6 responses »

  1. I think it is funny that the comment below the photo I took was the exact thing you said to me as I took the picture… So glad you guys could make it.. hope you had a good time!

    Reply
  2. I am SO jealous of your crackberry!! That’s the phone I want but can’t get 😦 That pizza looks awesome!

    Reply
  3. The pizza looks great. Bowling is so fun, isn’t it!!!

    Reply
  4. LOVE your new phone!

    Reply
  5. I Love the Price is Right! but only with Bob Barker 🙂 I’m so behind the times with phones and stuff, it’s ridiculous. How fun is bowling? I’m horrible, but it is fun!

    Reply
  6. I haven’t been bowling in AGES! Maybe we’ll have to remedy that situation soon. 🙂

    Thanks for posting your whole-wheat artisan bread adaptation — I’m going to try it out SOON!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

