RSS Feed

Fresh & Flavorful

Posted on

Tonight was like our Friday because I’m going out of town tomorrow to visit my family and attend a bridal shower. Obviously tonight’s dinner need to include the bounty from the CSA, but I also wanted pizza and cocktails! Like I said, it’s like Friday. 🙂

Our “first course” was a fresh, flavorful CSA salad made with the lettuce mix and the pea shoots (and some English cucumber), along with some homemade red wine vinaigrette.

HPIM3474This was so flavorful. I have no idea which lettuces were included in the mix, but I got so many different flavors from it. I tasted something herbal, and brent claimed he tasted “something oaky, kind of like bourbon.” The salad was tender and absolutely delicious.

Up next, I made personal pizza for each of us. I thought it would be fun for us to each make our own pizza, but all Brent was willing to do was put the toppings on his. My pizza was out of this world good. (I could sense Brent rolling his eyes even as I typed that.) My toppings were homemade tomato sauce, roasted red pepper slices and goat cheese all stacked on a whole wheat crust!

HPIM3479I like to cut my pizza into to tiny slices because it takes longer to eat and extends my delicious enjoyment. 🙂 It was absolutely phenomenal! I’ve become addicted to these roasted red peppers. Love them! Tasty. Tasty. Tasty!

Our dessert course was… mojitos! They made use of the CSA apple mint. Brent makes a great mojito, probably because it’s his favorite drink. 🙂HPIM3488

Now I’m enjoying my mojito while watching season 4 of Weeds on DVD. Tomorrow is work, animal shelter, 4 hour drive and then Chicago deep dish pizza!!! I’m hoping when I come home I’ll have a wonderful nursing program acceptance letter waiting for me!

4 responses »

  1. Your pizza looks heavenly! As does the mojito 😉 Hope you have a safe trip and that you hear from the nursing program soon!!

    Reply
  2. It looks out of this world good, so there Brent. 😀

    Reply
  3. The salad and pizza look amazing! And now I’m craving both! 😀

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Tomato, I Think I Love You « The Idle Loaf

Leave a Reply

