RSS Feed

Weekend Recap Part 1: Club Soda

Posted on

Wow! I feel like it’s been a blur of a few days. We went out to dinner to celebrate Friday night, but it feels like forever ago. We had a gift certificate to Club Soda that we’ve been waiting to use, so Friday night was the night! We’ve been to Club Soda before, but only for drinks, so I was looking forward to dinner. We had a nice time, and the food was pretty good, but I think the overall consensus was that we would go back for appetizers and drinks but not the main entrees.

Please note that all photos were taken with my blackberry because I was trying to be inconspicuous. Brent thinks I failed on that count. So I apologize in advance for the less than stellar quality.

To start off we had some celebratory drinks: a cosmopolitan for me and a Mad Hat brew for Brent.

Cosmo

Cosmo

Beer in a fancy glass

Beer in a fancy glass

Up next we had an appetizer, which came highly recommended by every review we read about the restaurant: smoked gouda dip with a variety of dippers.

IMG00021-20090605-1752

bread and cheese

The dip was warm and gooey and delicious. Most of the dippers were majorly oversalted, but I loved the flatbread. We both really enjoyed the appetizer, but I would like to try some of the others on the menu next time. A lot of them sounded really good!

Every entree came with a choice of one of the salads off the menu or the soup of the day. Brent and I both chose salads. Mine was my favorite part of the meal.

Mine: Tomato Mozzarella Cucumber Salad

Mine: Tomato Mozzarella Cucumber Salad

My salad was a combination of fresh mozzarella, cherry tomatoes, cucumbers, capers, red onion, basil and diced bell pepper marinated in extra virgin olive oil and red wine vinegar. Loved it!

Brent's: Roasted Garlic Caesar

Brent's: Roasted Garlic Caesar

Caesar salad is pretty self explanatory, but please note that Brent got the optional anchovy fillets as well and really enjoyed them. Oh, and he said my homemade croutons were way better. Duh.

We probably could have left and gone home perfectly happy and satisfied at this point, but we got entrees. Both were good but not Earth-shattering. Brent actually referred to all the entree options as “unadventurous.” Told you he’s becoming a snob.

Mine: Halibut

Mine: Halibut

My entree was 8oz of halibut lightly seasoned and seared, topped with a lime, avocado, cilantro, tomato and cucumber salsa. It was served with a wild rice and pine nut pilaf and steamed broccoli. The fish and salsa was good, but boring. I enjoyed the pilaf and the broccoli was clearly an afterthought. Overall, definitely not worth the price. I think I could make it better at home.

Brent's: New York Strip

Brent's: New York Strip

Brent ordered his favorite steak and had potatoes lyonnaise (potatoes with onions on top) and broccoli with it. The steak was tasty, but nothing he couldn’t replicate at home. The potatoes and onions were kind of a bland disappointment.

I really enjoyed the appetizer and salad and could definitely make a meal out of them. The appetizer/salad portion of the menu seemed way more interesting and exciting, whereas the entrees seemed pretty conservative and boring. The drinks were good and we liked the atmosphere, so we’ll definitely go back. 🙂

Back with more of the weekend later!

3 responses »

  1. Ah… fancy schmancy restaurant 🙂

    Reply
  2. What a great meal! Perfect for celebrating!!

    Reply
  3. My boyfriend and I have been meaning to try this place (we just moved to FW 6 months ago). Glad to read the “review”… perhaps we’ll stick to drinks and those delicious-looking salads!

    PS: I’m from the Chicago suburbs… I don’t know why anyone would intentionally leave Chicago to go live in Indiana! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

