RSS Feed

Tomato, I Think I Love You

Posted on

I’ve never been a huge tomato fan. I like marinara sauce and tolerate ketchup, but to just eat raw tomato seemed pretty gag-inducing to me. The two we got in our CSA last week looked good and obviously I felt compelled to eat them, but I still didn’t expect to love them. But I did.

They made beautiful BLTs, but I have no decent photo of that. However, they took center stage in last night’s pizza dinner. I thought rather than making a pizza sauce out of some canned tomatoes that it would be nice and summery just to layer the sliced tomatoes on the crust along with a few other toppings.

Again we went with individual pizzas. Brent had tomatoes, mozzarella, Parmesan, and basil. He also drizzled some extra virgin olive oil over it before baking. I had a bite of his while my pizza was baking and it was so good. He really enjoyed the big crust bubbles that formed while baking.

IMG_0069My pizza was similar to my last one but the fresh tomato made this one way more flavorful. Sliced tomato, roasted red bell pepper, goat cheese, a sprinkle of Parmesan, basil, oregano and garlic scapes.

IMG_0072

It took all the restraint I had to save a few slices to eat for lunch today, but I’m so glad I did!

IMG_0079I can’t believe I’m about to say this, but I don’t even think the pizza needed the cheese. Crazy, I know, but I just can’t get over how delicious and flavor-packed this was. I really, really hope we get more tomatoes this week!

9 responses »

  1. Fresh, local tomatoes are the BEST!! Glad you’ve accepted this fruit/veggie πŸ˜‰ Your pizza looks fantastic!

    Reply
  2. smallchangesaddup

    That pizza looks amazing!
    I think raw tomatoes are quite a common thing to dislike – my sister and two of my friends love ketchup and salsa, yet hate tomatoes. I love them personally!

    http://www.smallchangesaddup.wordpress.com

    Reply
  3. You just totally inspired me to try raw tomatoes I never liked them but I’m thinking about giving them another chance.

    Reply
    • Danielle, do it! But definitely find some super fresh local ones right out of the dirt. Ah-maze-ing. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  4. the pizza looks great! i’m really picky about my tomatoes…sometimes i love them but if i get a bad one it ruins the whole meal for me.

    Reply
  5. Wow, those look really great! I also only eat tomatoes when they are in season. Usually with a dash of salt and some balsamic vinegar.

    jen
    http://www.bodaweightloss.com/blog

    Reply
  6. mmm mmm mmm that looks so good! Makes me want to make some pizza soon!

    Reply
  7. Just catching up on your blog after vacation, so a belated congrats on your nursing program! Your pizza looks wonderful.

    Reply
  8. Pingback: Year End Review « The Idle Loaf

Leave a Reply

